History

"VIVACIOUS" VERA L. HOLT AREA

23 churches



Mrs. Vera L. Holt

The History of the Vera L. Holt Area has been written up until 1984 by an unknown author.

Central-Western District was named Vera L. Holt Area in honor of Mrs. Vera L. Holt, 4th Conference Branch President. She was the wife of PE Dr. J. E. Holt of Raleigh District and later Morganton District. He was appointed by the late Bishop M.H. Davis, and his wife C. B. Davis was the Supervisor of the Missionary. Presiding Elder and Mrs. Holt resided in Greensborough, NC.

Mrs. Vera L. Holt was dedicated and tireless worker.

She gave much to the cause of missions. She
continued her high interest in the work throughout
her life. The late Mrs. Holt's work did not stand
apart – it was united with the work of other dedicated

women making Missionary a strong and valuable part of the African Methodist Episcopal Church.

The Area was named after a dedicated and outstanding Missionary woman. There are many women whose work is of this caliber. This area has been blessed with missionaries who are known for their dedication, their devotion to the AME Church, and the desire to live a life modeled by Jesus Christ. Yesterday, today, and tomorrow, the Vera L. Holt Area Missionary Society of the AME Church will strive to do God's will and the mission of the AME Church.

(Source: Vera L. Holt Area)



Vera L. Holt Former Area Leaders

Sister Anna L. Jones Sister Janice Carmichael

Sister Sarah Scott Schofield Sister Patricia Knight

Sister Bernice Yount Sister Angeline Pugh

Sister Vera Goode Sister Linda Kaye Givens

Sister Joy P. Grandy

Vera L. Holt Area 23 Churches, Location and Society Names

Adams Metropolitan Charlotte Ruby Campbell WMS

Corpening Chapel Glen Alpine Bessie Corpening WMS

Gaston Chapel Morganton Celia Fleming WMS

Greater Bethel Charlotte Haynes-Schoffield WMS

Hartland Morganton Elizabeth Corpening WMS

Israel Chapel Connelly Springs Smith-Berry WMS

Mars Hill Lenoir Harriet Pearson Reece-Cornelius Coffey Harshaw WMS

McElrath Morganton Jessie Mae Crawford WMS

Mission Morganton Johnson-Ervin WMS

Mitchell Chapel Lenoir Grace Horton WMS

Mt. Herman Glen Alpine Johnson Bowman WMS

Mt. Pisgah Hickory Maggie R. Hall WMS

New Covenant Charlotte Theresa Gregg James WMS

Shiloh Morganton Nina-Bess WMS

St. James Ashville Mary Johnson Sloan WMS

St. James Winston-Salem Sarah Allen WMS

St. John Nebo Cynthia Hardy WMS

St. Paul Lenoir Scott-Patterson/Shade Dixon WMS

St. Paul Mt. Airy Gertrude Reynolds WMS

St. Stephens Mt. Gilead Mary E. Little WMS

Union Bethel Winston-Salem Elizan Williams WMS

Willow Tree Morganton Sarah Jane Avery WMS

2021 Area Chairperson: Sister Joy Grandy