Moe Township Annual Meeting, March 8, 2022

The meeting was called to order by the Clerk, Todd Egenes, after the polls were declared closed at or about 8:05pm. The POA was given.

Nominations were opened for Moderator. Merrill Pedersen was nominated. By a show of hands Merrill Pedersen was selected and took the chair of Moderator.

The Agenda was proposed. The agenda was approved. (m- Lynn Bushard, s- Bonnie Huettl, v-unan).

The minutes of the previous annual meeting and Board of Canvas for 2021 were approved. (m- Hardy Huettl, s- Lynn Bushard, v- unan)

REPORTS

Garfield Fire Department request for fire protection.

The Garfield Fire Department did not have a representative present at the meeting. There were 20 calls in Moe Township in 2021 compared to 22 in 2020. They responded to a total of 126 calls in 2021 for all townships and the City of Garfield. The Garfield Fire Department's funding request for 2023 was \$24,396.43. A motion was made to give \$24,396.43 (m- Jerome Kostreba, s- Barb Egenes, v- unan.)

Brandon Fire Department request for fire protection.

Jeron Buchholz and Richard Korkowski were present to represent the Brandon Fire Department. The Brandon Fire Department is requesting an amount of \$10,835.50 for 2023. A motion was made to pay \$10,835.50 for 2023. (m- Jerome Kostreba, s- Fred Krafthefer, v- unan).

District 206 Community Education request for funds.

A letter had been received from Alexandria Public Schools Community Recreation Program requesting \$1,010.00 for the year 2023. A motion was made to pay \$1,010.00 for 2023. (m- Barb Egenes, s- Hardy Huettl, v- unan.)

Holmes City First Responders

A letter was received from Holmes City First Responders requesting a donation in whatever amount the township felt appropriate. They had requested support for 2021 or 2022. A motion was made to give \$4,000.00 for 2023. (m- Jerome Kostreba, s- Hardy Huettl), by vote the motion failed. A motion was made to give \$2,000.00 for 2023. (m- Matt Topel, s- Bonnie Huettl), by vote the motion to give \$2,000.00 carried.

Financial Report

The clerk reviewed the 2021 financial report.

OLD BUSINESS - None

NEW BUSINESS

Official Depository and Newspaper

A motion was made to retain the Bremer Bank and the Echo Press as the official depository and official newspaper. (m- Hardy Huettl, s- Barb Egenes, v- unan)

Date, Time & Place of next Annual Election and Meeting

The consensus of the meeting was to hold the election and meeting on the date set up by State Statute, March 14th, 2023, with the polls being open from 5:00 to 8:00 with the annual meeting following at the Moe Pioneer Hall.

Budget Proposal

The proposed 2023 budget was presented. A motion was made to accept the 2023 proposed budget of \$398,600.00 as presented. Note: Please refer to the back of the Annual Financial Report, handed out at meeting, for details. (m- Bonnie Huettl, s- Jim Barrett, v- unan)

Other Business pertinent to Moe Township

The board discussed the issues and limitations of the existing township shed and where they were at in gathering quotes to explore building a new shed on a property that could be purchased that adjoins the current hall location to the west. No building quotes had been received but the land owner to the west of the hall had agreed to sell land to the township if a shed is to be built.

Roger Chlian suggested naming the hall to honor the donation of the facility to the township. After discussion a motion was made to call the facility Moe Pioneer Hall, (m-Roger Chlian, s- Bonnie Huettl, v- unan)

Respectfully submitted by,

Todd Egenes, Clerk

Board of Canvass March 8, 2022

Lynn Bushard called the Board of Canvas meeting to order. All members were present except John Krafthefer. At this time, the Board accepted the results of the election earlier this day. The results are as follows:

One Supervisor for a three year term
Jerome Kostreba received 26 votes of 41 votes cast.
Write-in candidates Rod Johnson received 14 votes and Andy Siira received 1 vote.

One Clerk for a two year term Todd Egenes received 34 votes. Rod Johnson received 2 write-in votes.

A motion was made to declare Jerome Kostreba and Todd Egenes newly elected. (m-Jerome Kostreba, s- Lynn Bushard)

A motion was made to adjourn the meeting. (m- Jerome Kostreba, s- Lynn Bushard)

Respectfully submitted by,

Todd Egenes, Clerk