# Connellsville City Council MINUTES

### **JANUARY 6, 2020 REORGANIZATION MEETING**

This regular meeting of the Connellsville City Council was held this evening at 6:00 PM at City Hall, Connellsville, PA. Attending this meeting was Mayor Lincoln, Council members Keedy, Karpiak, Tzan and Topper. Also attending was City Clerk Ohler. Solicitor Witt was absent.

#### PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE AND MOMENT OF SILENCE:

OATH OF OFFICE: Given by: Honorable Judge John F. Wagner

Ethan Keedy, Councilman Melissa Tzan, Councilman

Marilyn Weaver, City Treasurer was absent.

**REGULAR AGENDA:** 

### MAYOR LINCOLN:

Resolution No.: 1-1-2020: "To make a motion to reorganize Council as follows: Director of Accounts and Finance, Ethan Keedy."

A vote upon the adoption of the resolution resulted as follows: Affirmative were Councilmembers Topper, Karpiak, Tzan and Keedy and Mayor Lincoln. The majority of the votes being affirmative, the resolution was adopted.

Resolution No. 1-2-2020: "To make a motion to reorganize Council as follows: Director of Parks and Public Property, Melissa Tzan."

A vote upon the adoption of the resolution resulted as follows: Affirmative were Councilmembers Topper, Karpiak, Tzan and Keedy and Mayor Lincoln. The majority of the votes being affirmative, the resolution was adopted.

Resolution No. 1-3-2020: "To make a motion to reorganize Council as follows: Director of Public Health and Safety, Robert Topper, Jr."

A vote upon the adoption of the resolution resulted as follows: Affirmative were Councilmembers Topper, Karpiak, Tzan and Keedy and Mayor Lincoln. The majority of the votes being affirmative, the resolution was adopted.

Resolution No. 1-4-2020: "To make a motion to reorganize Council as follows: Director of Public Works, Tom Karpiak."

A vote upon the adoption of the resolution resulted as follows: Affirmative were Councilmembers Topper, Karpiak, Tzan and Keedy and Mayor Lincoln. The majority of the votes being affirmative, the resolution was adopted.

Resolution No. 1-5-2020: "To set the 2020 City Council Meetings for the following dates: January 21, February 18, March 17, April 21, May 19, June 16, July 21, August 18, September 15, October 20, November 17, and December 15, 2020; meetings will begin at 6:00 PM."

A vote upon the adoption of the resolution resulted as follows: Affirmative were Councilmembers Topper, Karpiak, Tzan and Keedy and Mayor Lincoln. The majority of the votes being affirmative, the resolution was adopted.

Resolution No. 1-6-2020: "To appoint Ethan Keedy as City of Connellsville delegate to the Southwest Regional Tax Bureau and Shanea Fuller as alternate, effective immediately; terms to expire January 2021."

A vote upon the adoption of the resolution resulted as follows: Affirmative were Councilmembers Topper, Karpiak, Tzan and Keedy and Mayor Lincoln. The majority of the votes being affirmative, the resolution was adopted.

Direct appointment, Leigh Ann Lincoln to the Redevelopment Authority Board; term to expire the first Monday in January 2025

Direct appointment, John Lypson to the Connellsville Zoning Board; term to expire the first Monday in January 2025

Direct appointment, Brent Rockwell to the Connellsville Planning Commission; term to expire the first Monday in January 2024

Direct appointment, Richard Galasso to the Connellsville Planning Commission; term to expire the first Monday in January 2024

Direct appointment, Shannon Cuneo to the Connellsville Planning Commission; term to expire the first Monday in January 2024

Resolution No. 1-7-2020: "To reappoint Vinny Traynor to the Police Civil Service Board; term to expire the first Monday in January 2024."

A vote upon the adoption of the resolution resulted as follows: Affirmative were Councilmembers Topper, Karpiak, Tzan and Keedy and Mayor Lincoln. The majority of the votes being affirmative, the resolution was adopted.

Resolution No. 1-8-2020: "To re-appoint Teri Hirko to the Connellsville Housing Authority; term to expire the first Monday in January 2025."

A vote upon the adoption of the resolution resulted as follows: Affirmative were Councilmembers Topper, Karpiak, Tzan and Keedy and Mayor Lincoln. The majority of the votes being affirmative, the resolution was adopted.

Resolution No. 1-9-2020: "To re-appoint Patrick Duncan to the Connellsville Municipal Authority; term to expire the first Monday in January 2025."

A vote upon the adoption of the resolution resulted as follows: Affirmative were Councilmembers Topper, Karpiak, Tzan and Keedy and Mayor Lincoln. The majority of the votes being affirmative, the resolution was adopted.

Resolution No. 1-10-2020: "To re-appoint Scott Felgar to the Shade Tree Commission; term to expire the first Monday in January 2025."

A vote upon the adoption of the resolution resulted as follows: Affirmative were Councilmembers Topper, Karpiak, Tzan and Keedy and Mayor Lincoln. The majority of the votes being affirmative, the resolution was adopted.

Resolution No. 1-11-2020: "To re-appoint John Irwin to the Connellsville Traffic Committee; term to expire the first Monday in January 2025."

A vote upon the adoption of the resolution resulted as follows: Affirmative were Councilmembers Topper, Karpiak, Tzan and Keedy and Mayor Lincoln. The majority of the votes being affirmative, the resolution was adopted.

#### KEEDY:

Resolution No. 1-12-2020: "That proper authorization is given to pay the following expenditures for each and every month for the calendar year 2020. All public utilities; employee benefit premiums; traffic control under \$500; vehicle monthly leases; collection fees from Southwest Regional Tax Bureau; Culligan Water; UniFirst hall carpets; Pitney Bowes postage; premiums for workmen's compensation, liability and bonds; gasoline and diesel fuel; animal control; legal advertisements; all contracted maintenance agreements; and monthly retainer fees."

A vote upon the adoption of the resolution resulted as follows: Affirmative were Councilmembers Topper, Karpiak, Tzan and Keedy and Mayor Lincoln. The majority of the votes being affirmative, the resolution was adopted.

Resolution No. 1-13-2020: "To designate Director of Accounts and Finance Ethan Keedy, City Controller Bruce Witt, City Treasurer Marilyn Weaver as signatories on all City bank and depository accounts."

A vote upon the adoption of the resolution resulted as follows: Affirmative were Councilmembers Topper, Karpiak, Tzan and Keedy and Mayor Lincoln. The majority of the votes being affirmative, the resolution was adopted.

najority of the votes being affirmative, the resolution was adopted.	
KARPIAK:	

## TOPPER:

TZAN:

Resolution No.: 1-14-2020: "To re-appoint David McIntire to the Board of Health; term to expire the first Monday in January 2025."

A vote upon the adoption of the resolution resulted as follows: Affirmative were Councilmembers Topper, Karpiak, Tzan and Keedy and Mayor Lincoln. The majority of the votes being affirmative, the resolution was adopted.

Resolution No. 1-15-2020: "That this meeting of City Council does hereby adjourn."

A vote upon the adoption of the resolution resulted as follows: Affirmative were Councilmembers Topper, Karpiak, Tzan and Keedy and Mayor Lincoln. The
majority of the votes being affirmative, the resolution was adopted.