History

"MAGNIFICENT" MINNIE PEARSON AREA

23 churches

Established around 1889, was named honoring Minnie Sumner Pearson, born June 6, 1869. She was a great religious educational leader who held positions of importance in State and National Connections of the AME Church. As she and Mrs. Molly Markum, wife of the founder of St. Joseph AME Church attended a missionary tour at Rich Square, North Carolina, this inspired Mrs. Pearson to consider starting a society in the St. Joseph AME Church around 1889. She traveled miles in good and bad weather to bring comfort to those on lone farms. A third person joined them in their ministry duties, Mrs. Eliza Hanks and the three persons made the greatest of willing workers. Mrs. Pearson was active in the development of the Efland

Home, an institution for wayward girls, and the 1st Vice President



Mrs. Minnie S. Pearson

of the Women's Home and Foreign Missionary church of the AME Church. Among other offices she held were the 3rd Conference Branch President of Western North Carolina Conference for forty (40) years; President of the State Federations of Colored Women's Club; Chairperson of the Women's Board of Lincoln Hospital; Member of the board of Warren Library; and member of the Board of management of the YWCA.

Mrs. Pearson was married to Mr. William Gaston Pearson on June 6, 1893. He was a Negro educator, civic leader, and philanthropist. For half a century he was principle of the old Whitted and Hillside schools. He and his devoted missionary wife were members of St. Joseph AME Church. Under their influence the value of the church and church school amounted to thousands of dollars. The W. G. Pearson School was named in his honor. The Pearson Memorial Church was bought under and completed in honor of Minnie Pearson following her death. She departed her life on September 4, 1940, at the age of 71.

(Sources: Late Roberta Justice-Miles, Historiographer -Statistician; Women's History of the Women's Missionary Society 1874 -2003 of the African Methodist Episcopal Church).



Minnie Pearson Area Leaders 1869 – 2021

| Mrs. Leslie Thompson Morrow | Mrs. Phyllis G. Morrison |
|-----------------------------|-------------------------------|
| Mrs. Hortense Duhart | Mrs. Annette Bowden |
| Mrs. Willa Robinson George | Mrs. Frances H. Hope |
| Mrs. Marie C. Torian | Sister Linda Glover |
| Mrs. Vera Edwards | Mrs. Barbara Royster |
| Mrs. Everlena Diggs | Mrs. Carlotta Armstrong-Young |

Minnie Pearson Area 23 Churches, Location and Society Names

| Allen Chapel | Roxboro | Esther Yancey WMS |
|--------------------|--------------|---|
| Bailey's Chapel | Roxboro | Luna J. Drumright |
| Dickerson's Chapel | Hillsborough | Mary Collins WMS |
| Emmanuel | Durham | Rosa Horry WMS |
| Flat Rock | Hillsborough | Naomi B Long WMS |
| Gaines Chapel | Efland | Ora Shanklin WMS |
| Harvey's Chapel | Hillsborough | Prudence Thompson WMS |
| Hunter's Chapel | Mebane | Cassie B Mebane WMS |
| Johnson Chapel | Mebane | Vaughn-Shaw-Holt WMS |
| Macedonia | Milton | Garland Harris WMS |
| Maxwell | Graham | Stone Foust WMS |
| Mount Zion | Hillsborough | Cates-Hester WMS |
| New Harris Grove | Rougemont | Betty Eleanor Harris WMS |
| Oak Level | Milton | Hamlett-Hughes WMS |
| Payne Chapel | Hillsborough | Annie K. Strickland WMS |
| Pearson Chapel | Yanceyville | Herley J. Williamson WMS |
| Quinn Chapel | Roxboro | Gertrude Clay WMS |
| St. Joseph | Durham | Minnie S Pearson WMS |
| St. Matthews | Graham | Parrish-Atwater-Alston Morrow-Stone WMS |
| St. Paul | Chapel Hill | Duhart-Clark WMS |
| Wayman Chapel | Graham | Mabel H Poole WMS |
| White Cross | Efland | Betty-Fuller WMS |
| Wood's Chapel | Graham | Eliza Mae Mebane WMS |