NEGATIVE, SUPPORT,
MAXIMAL, RESPONSIVE

One little word, so many meanings

Of the four types of doubles covered in
this lesson, one is indispensable, one is
frequently helpful, and two are highly useful
in the uncommon situations in which they
arise. Your focus of learning should certainly
be directed to the negative double, which you
probably know fairly well, and then on the
support double. When you feel comfortable
with these, then learn the maximal double,
and finally the responsive double.

NEGATIVE DOUBLES

The negative double arises when
partner has opened and the opponent has
overcalled. Your double in this sequence is a
negative double. It is a takeout double by
responder.

The expected meaning of the negative
double is that you hold 5+ or more points and
4 or more cards in each of the unbid suits.

Regarding Point Count

Regarding the points, note the absence
of any upper limit. Your points are 5+ and UP.
Even a very powerful hand can make a
negative double. Opener will suppose that
you have 5+ to 9-. If you have values
exceeding these, then it is up to you to take
appropriate action on your subsequent bids.
Bidding again in an invitational manner will
express 9+ to 12-. If you don’t invite, but go
directly to game, you express12+ to 15-. If
you have even more points, you could go into
RKC, or you could cuebid the opponent’s suit
to express strength, asking partner to somehow

act accordingly.

You also need to adjust your expected
point count for the level of the opponent’s
overcall. For instance, if partner has opened
1 diamond and the opponent has overcalled
3 spades, then your negative double would
certainly not be a mere 6 points. Since you
are pushing partner into a 4-level response,
you would like to have 12+ points. However,
as a practical matter, you may need to make
your double with somewhat less, perhaps with
as few as 9+ if you feel that you must act.
Likewise, if you are forcing opener to respond
to you at the 3 level, you should hold something
like a minimum of, say, 8 points. The higher
bidding levels are requiring greater point count,
while the need to compete is putting a blur on
the exact number of points you may in fact
pOSSeESS.

Regarding Shape Differences

The expected meaning of your negative
double is that you posses the two unbid suits.
But you may in fact hold something slightly
different. For instance, if partner has opened
1 diamond and the overcall is 1 spade, instead
of holding hearts and clubs you may hold
hearts and diamonds. The important suit is
the major suit. When the opponent overcalls
one of the major suits, the negative doubler
guarantees the other major. His holding in
the minor suits may not always be perfect.

If opener and overcaller have each bid
a minor, you are expected to hold both majors.
Generally speaking, you will honor this
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expectation. But the need to compete will not
always allow us to wait for the perfect hand.
You may on occasion have to make a negative
double with one 4-card and one 3-card major
Suit.

Another shape variance arises when
you have just one suit and that suit is the higher
ranking unbid suit. For example:

104 AJ8742 963

Q3
Partner has opened 1 diamond and the
opponent has overcalled 1 spade. You need
to express your nice heart suit, but you lack
the 10 points needed to make a freebid. But
you can express this hand using a negative
double. Partner will probably bid nearly
anything else but hearts, and then you bid
hearts outright at your next turn. Note that
your suit must be the higher ranking suit so
that you can always correct without raising the
level. Partner will need to remember that a
negative double followed by a bid shows one
suit, 6 cards or perhaps a very good 5. He
also must remember that you hold less than
10 points, because with 10 or more you would
have simply bid your suit instead of doubling.

When the Overcall Has Been 1 Heart

When the overcall has been 1 heart, a
special agreement arises. If responder has
just 4 spades, he makes a negative double,
but if responder has 5 spades, then he bids 1
spade outright. This agreement always informs
opener immediately what to expect in spade
length in responder’s hand. This is important
because the overcaller’s partner may raise the
heart bid to 2 hearts, and if opener doesn’t
know how many spades partner has, he cannot

make an accurate rebid. Alert responder’s bid
of 1 spade in such an auction. If asked, reply
that it shows a 5-card spade suit. Point count
is 5+ and UP.

How High to Play Negative Doubles

Your convention card asks you what
level you play negative doubles through. The
recommended level is through 3 spades. So,
after partner opens, any overcall or jump
overcall which is 3 spades or less can be met
with a negative double. Under this agreement,
if the opponent were to overcall at the 4 level,
your double is for penalty.

Nonetheless, if the second player leaps
immediately to 4 hearts, play the negative
double on, promising 4 spades. This is your
last chance to find a 4-4 spade fit and a spade
game in the face of the heart preempt. The
heart bidder is going to have his suit, so you'll
win few if any heart tricks, and you won't get
rich picking off your sidesuit winners. If you
make the negative double and show the 4
spades, partner is advised that you have game
going strength. He can take appropriate action,
which may be to pass, converting your double
to a penalty double.

Any Negative Double Can Be Converted
When you make any normal negative

double, you are expecting partner to bid, either
selecting from the 2 suits you are showing, or
rebidding his own long suit, or even bidding
in notrump. Nearly always, your partner will
meet your expectation and make one of these
bids. But partner is not absolutely compelled
to bid. If partner judges that defending would
be better than playing, he may pass your
negative double, converting it to a penalty
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double, preferring to defend. This conversion
Is very unlikely at lower bidding levels, but as
the level moves up, opener’s freedom in
converting a double to penalty becomes
increasingly feasible.

How Responder Plays for Penalties

Imagine that partner has opened 1
spade and the opponent bids 2 clubs. What
if you hold a hand like this one:

K7 542 J62 AJ1063.
You may be aching to double the 2 club
overcall for penalties, but you can’t. Your
double would promise hearts and diamonds,
and you have neither.

To defend for penalties, you must pass
the overcall and wait for opener to reopen the
auction with a double. You will then pass his
balancing takeout double and convert it to a
penalty double.

How do you know that partner will
balance with a takeout double? Well, you
can’t be perfectly certain he will. First of all,
the other opponent may act in front of your
partner, who will then be taken out of balancing
position. But if partner does acquire the
balancing seat, then he should feel highly
obligated to double.

The balancing double by opener is an
iImportant dimension of negative doubles. If
opener does not feel highly obligated to double
in balancing seat, then your partnership can
never profit from any opportunity to punish
the overcaller. When you open the auction
and the left hand opponent overcalls, you
should expect to hear a call from partner. He

may raise you, bid in notrump, take a freebid,
or make a negative double. If your partner
fails to act, then you should expect a call from
your right hand opponent, who should have
some values to support the overcaller. If that
hand passes also, then check out your holding
of the opponent’s suit. Chances are you are
on the short side, so double. Your partner will
probably pass for penalties.

Is there any time when you don’t have
to double in the balancing seat? Yes, there
are two cases:

1. You hold length in the overcaller’s
suit. If you hold length, then your
partner doesn’t. Since your partner
does not have length, he was not
planning on defending for penalties.
Your partner just wasn't able to bid.
He may have been too weak to bid,
or he may have values and no bid..

2. You may bid instead of double if your
hand wants to insist on playing. You
would have a hand that isn't really
suitable for defending such a low
level contract. Either you are too
shapely, and you need to declare,
or else you are too strong, and the
penalty doubles won't yield enough
points.
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SUPPORT DOUBLES

A support double is a double made by
opener. Support doubles arise when you have
opened, your partner has responded with one
of a major, and the right hand opponent
overcalls. Adouble or redouble by you shows
that you have 3-card support for partner’s
major suit. Look at these auctions:

opener opp responder opp
10 P 14 2%
dbl
Opener has exactly 3 spades.

opener opp responder opp

15 P 14 2%
24
Opener has 4 spades.

opener opp responder opp
10 P 14 2%
pass
Opener has less than 3 spades.

Although the negative double is now
considered standard, and requires no alert,
the support double is not considered standard.
The support double must be alerted.
Moreover, since the direct raise promises 4
cards, it too is alerted. And finally, since the
pass denies 3 spades, it must be alerted as
well. Therefore, in hands 1 — 3 above,
responder must alert opener’s rebid in every
case. You might find it unusual to alert
partner’s pass, but it is an alert.

opener opp responder opp
1% P 16 dbl
redbl

This is a support redouble. Opener has
redoubled to show 3-card spade support.
The support redouble requires an alert.

opener opp responder opp

@ 16 1O 14 20
dbl

Opener’s double is again a support
double. In our previous examples, only
opener’s right hand opponent has bid.
This time the left hand opponent has
bid also. The critical feature is the action
taken by the right hand opponent. Itis
the bid standing between responder and
opener that sets up the support double.

responder opp

opener opp
16 10 14 >
4

This auction in different. Responder
has bid 1 spade directly over 1 heart,
thereby showing a 5-card spade suit.
Opener can raise to 2 spades holding
just 3 spades. So this raise indicates 3
or 4 spades. It does not require an alert.

opener opp responder opp
@ 1% 19 1e 29
dbl
Alert this support double. It shows
exactly 2 spades.
Therefore, if opener passes, alert!
It would show a singleton or void in
spades!
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Support doubles are played through 2

spades.
opener opp responder opp

1% P 19 24
dbl

Here again is a support double showing
that opener holds 3 hearts.

opener opp responder opp
1 P 19 34
dbl
This is a penalty double. Support
doubles are played only through 2
spades.

Look at your convention card. In the
upper left hand corner is a box labeled “Special
Doubles.” Now find “support double” and
check the box next to it.

What should responder do when he
hears opener make a support double? Simply
speaking, he does the right thing. Here are
a few possibilities:

1. Take a suit preference between opener’s
minor and responder’s own major, staying at
the 2 level to show a minimum, jumping to
show invitational values. Jumping in the major
would require a 5-card suit. Simply preferring
the major suit at the 2 level can be done with
just 4 trump.

2. With a minimum, responder can rebid 1NT,
if there is still room for this bid. It would show
that the major suit was only 4 cards long. Or,
responder can bid 2NT showing invitational

values and a 4-card major. Or, responder can

bid 3NT showing game points and a 4-card
major.

3. If the opponent who bids after opener
makes a call, responder can pass to show
minimal values and only a 4-card suit. The
key concept is that responder would compete
with a fit, so failing to compete means the suit
was just 4-cards long.

4. With extra values, responder can bid a
new suit, or he could cue bid the opponent’s
suit to show extra values, perhaps as Western
Cue Bid. Responder can move to RKC or
even splinter. Actions that imply a fit describe
5 or more trump in responder’s hand, while
other bids either deny an 8-card fit or are
temporarily ambiguous.

MAXIMAL DOUBLES
Maximal doubles arise in competitive

auctions when the opponents’ suit is the suit
just below your major suit. In other words, if
your suit is spades and the opponents are
competing in hearts. Or, if your suit is hearts
and the opponents are competing in diamonds.
Consider the following situation:

opener opp responder opp
14 20V 24 3Q

If opener wants simply to compete in spades,
he can bid 3 spades. Responder should not
take this as an invitation to try game. Quite
the contrary. Opener is not showing any
interest in game nor even any extra values.
He has simply formed the opinion that
outbidding the opponents at the 3 level is the
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right action.

But what if opener DID want to invite a

game? There aren’t any bids available to do
that! Oh, but yes there is. The bid remaining
is “double.” This double is the maximal double.
The doubler has extra values and is inviting
4 spades. Responder will accept the invitation
by bidding 4 spades. He will decline the
invitation by bidding 3 spades.

The same situation arises when the 2
suits are diamonds are hearts.

opener opp responder opp

19 2O 29 3¢

If opener bids 3 hearts, he is simply competing
and does not invite game. But if opener
doubles, he is not suggesting defense, he is
inviting responder to bid 4 hearts if responder
holds maximal values.

Here are a few other auctions using the
maximal double:

opener opp responder opp
146 dbl 26 39
dbl

opener opp responder opp

1 P 16 29
24 30 dbl

opener opp responder opp
1s P 19 20
29 3¢ dbol

RESPONSIVE DOUBLES
Responsive doubles arise when your
left hand opponent has opened the bidding,
your partner has overcalled, and then your
right hand opponent has raised the opener.
See the auction below:

opp partner opp you
19 25O 29V  dbl
This is the model for a responsive double.
Your bid shows 5+ to 9- points and 5 -5 or
5 —4 distribution in the two unbid suits. You
are inviting partner to join either of your suits
with as little as 3-card support.

The responsive double doesn'’t arise
very often simply because so many elements
must be present: the overcall, the joining of
responder with opener’s original suit, and you
with a 5 — 5 hand, or at least 5 — 4. But when
it does come up, you will be glad you play it.
Imagine that you hold:

KJ652 84 6 A10943
The responsive double is perfect for your
hand. Without it, you would be showing too
many values if you bid at all, and if you choose
to bid spades, you might be bidding partner’s
singleton while missing out on a great club fit.

Responsive doubles are similar to
negative doubles, except that negative doubles
respond to partner’'s opening bid, while
responsive doubles respond to partner’s
overcall.

Responsive doubles are clear cut when
partner has overcalled because there are just
two suits left for you to indicate with your
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double. But a responsive double can also
arise when partner has made a takeout double.

opp partner opp you
19 dbol 29 dbol

This responsive double means that you have
values in the range of 5+ to 9-with cards in
the unbid suits, but you don’t know which
should be selected as trump. Therefore your
bid does two things at once: it allows partner
to select his best suit, and it limits your point
count. Your hand may look like:

J109 964 QJ84 K97

Your hand isn’t much to look at, but the
opponents have a fit at the 2 level and partner
has invited competition. You have warned
him of limited values, and he can make the
best decision available.

Like negative doubles, you should play
responsive doubles on through 3 spades. On
your convention card, see “Special Doubles”.
Responsive doubles require alerts.



