THE COMMITTEE STRUCTURE

We believe that effective organizations are directly related to effective committees.

In the association there are 12 Standing Committees that were created by the By-Laws of the Association. They function on a permanent basis and this structure is considered the best way to ensure that the people with the right skills, interests and commitment to the tasks are involved in the detail work of the organization. The structure makes the work of the organization more efficient.

In addition to the 12 chairpersons there are some 50 other alums from across the country who have committed to serving on these committees.

Public Relations is the lynch-pin for intercommunication, intra-communication and board connections.

The W. A. Pattillo High School National Alumni Association, Inc. feels that it is a viable entity in the Edgecombe County Community. Our Annual Reunion hosts over 250 people annually. Many who are returning home to and with family and friends. It is our intent to continue preserving the legacy of our school and interfacing with the community -- its schools and citizens to promote a better life for all.

Fred S. Wood, Jr., Ed.D. National President

COMMITTEE CHAIRPERSONS

Archives

Dr. Florence A. Armstrong Class of '63 ~ Tarboro. NC

Benevolence

Ms. Minnie Pitt-Pierce Class of '67 ~ New York, NY

By-Laws/Policy

Mr. Jack Mathewson Class of '62 ~ Greensboro, NC

Finance

Vacant

Hall of Fame Vacant

Membership

Mrs. Ruby W. Williams Class of '65 ~ Greensboro, NC

Nominating and Recruitment

Mrs. Joanne J. Jefferson Class of '66 ~ Baltimore, MD

Logistic

Mr. Charles Lyons Class of '69 ~ Port Arthur, TX

Program

Mrs. Lois C. Hinton Class of '68 ~ Raleigh, NC

Public Relations

Deaconess Cynthia K. Dockery Class of '73 ~ Lanham, MD

Scholarship

Mrs. Charlotte S. Privott Class of '66 ~ Tarboro, NC

2023 Reunion

Deaconess Cynthia K. Dockery Class of '73 ~ Lanham, MD

Visit our website for a description of the inner workings of each of these committees. Specifically the Scholarship Committee and the scholarship award opportunities available to Edgecombe County Public Schools students.

W. A. PATTILLO HIGH SCHOOL NATIONAL ALUMNI ASSOCIATION, INC.



We look forward to working with you to keep the spirit of Pattillo alive. We want alumni and friends to feel connected to Pattillo High School so that you understand that no matter where you are, Pattillo is with you.

PO Box 601 Tarboro, NC 27886 http://pattillohsalumni.com https://www.facebook.com/wapattillo

HISTORY



The W. A. Pattillo High School National Alumni Association was the vision of graduates Nathan Lewis, William Boyd, Rayfield Perkins, and George Worsley.

In 1978, following a very financially successful reunion of the Class of 1955, Nathan Lewis and other members of the Class of 1955 agreed to donate the financial proceeds to organize the W. A. Pattillo High School National Alumni Association.

In 1981, former students of Tarboro Colored High, W. A. Pattillo High and Princeville Elementary Schools gathered for the first reunion of the Alumni Association. After the first reunion, more supporters came. Nathan Lewis served as interim National President.

In 1983, the Alumni Association adopted an Organization Charter. Attorneys Jessie Baker and Glennie Matthewson provided legal assistance. Initially the organization was chartered as the Tarboro Black Educational Alumni Association but was later amended to be the W. A. Pattillo High School National Alumni Association, Inc.

PURPOSE AND GOVERNANCE

The purpose of the association is to provide scholarships and grants to students which the organization deems worthy to assist in furthering their education, and to provide financial and other assistance to educational institutions at all levels. The association is a 501c (3) Non-profit Corporation with a Board of Directors and the normal compliment of corporate officers.

Implicit in this purpose is the sponsorship and participation in community activities and to have an Annual Reunion activity that will provide for fellowship and preserving the legacy of W. A. Pattillo High School.

At-Large Board members are Dr. Veronica J. Bradley, Class of 1967, a resident of Hampton, VA; Mrs. Delia W. Perkins, Class of 1960, a resident of Princeville, NC; Reverend George Cromwell, Class of 1961, a resident of Garner, NC; Mrs. Carolyn Baker-Pritchette, Class of 1973, a resident of Tarboro, NC and Philadelphia, PA. There is one vacant position.

A concept of Regionalization is used by the association. The United States is divided into four regions: Northeast, Southeast, Southwest and Northwest. Association membership is characterized by regions rather than by Alumni Chapters. Each region is served by a Regional Director elected by the members of the Region, if possible.

Regional Directors are: Mr. Richard Lyons, Northeast Regional Director, Class of 1968, who resides in Clinton, MD; Mrs. Gladys H. Dunn, Southeast Regional Director, Class of 1963, who resides in Princeville, NC; Mr. James Victor Spencer, Southwest/Northwest Regional Director, Class of 1963, who resides in Fairfield, CA.

OPERATIONAL STRUCTURE

The association operates basically on three arms: Governance, Administrative and Programs.

All activities of the association are board driven and result from a decision of the Board of Directors with respect to implementation or non-implementation.

Day-to-day administrative functions are the responsibility of the officers and are supported from membership dues and fundraising efforts. Neither a dollar nor a dime is used to compensate any officer, chair, or board member.

During the association year we sponsor a number of programs, and these are spearheaded by the Standing Committees.

The officers of the association are President, Dr. Fred S. Wood, Jr., Class of 1962, a resident of Greensboro, NC; Vice-President, Deaconess Cynthia K. Dockery Class of 1973, a resident of Lanham, MD; Secretary, Mrs. Barbara G. Carter, Class of 1968, a resident of Burlington, NC; Assistant Secretary, Mrs. Jackie Watson, Class of 1973, a resident of Tarboro, NC; Treasurer, Vacant; Assistant Treasurer, Mrs. Ann C. Adams, Class of 1969, a resident of Princeville, NC; Financial Secretary, Mrs. Janette Williams-Pettaway, Class of 1966, a resident of Tarboro, NC and New York; Sargent-at-Arms, Mr. Charles Lyons, Class of 1968, a resident of Port Arthur, TX; Parliamentarian, Vacant; Chaplain of the South, Elder Clinton Stephens, Class of 1966, a resident of Tarboro, NC and Chaplain of the North, Mr. Johnny Bryant, Class of 1958, a resident of Baltimore, MD.