History

"MARVELLOUS" MARTHA MCCAULEY AREA 15 Churches



Mrs. Martha A. McCauley

Mrs. Martha McCauley was born August 2, 1882.

She helped establish and became the first President of St. Paul AME Church Missionary Society, Raleigh, NC. Mrs. McCauley was faithful and held positions on both the local and conference levels of the Women's Missionary Society of the AME Church. The legacy of her outstanding work prompted the Raleigh District to be renamed the Martha McCauley Area. She departed her life November 23, 1961. Further information of the areas' history is currently in research.



Martha McCauley Area Leaders 1964 – 2021

1964 – 1972	Sister Ruth Waddell	2004 – 2006	Sister Regina Melvin
1972 – 1980	Sister Augusta Gray	2006 - 2012	Sister Nikki Walker Lyons
1980 – 1988	Sister Johnsye Harris	2012 – 2013	Sister Elizabeth Hall
1988 – 1996	Sister Hazel Hughes	2013 – 2014	Sister Shirley Shears
1996 – 2004	Sister Pauline Irving	2014 – 2018	Sister Bobbie Cross

2018 – 2021 Sister Diane Tawwab

Martha McCauley Area Churches, Location and WMS Names

Allen Chapel	Laurinburg	Pankey Laurin WMS
Joseph Temple	Laurinburg	Davis-McLean WMS
Lincolnville	Raleigh	Janie Brown WMS
Living Waters	Raleigh	Leigh Nippers WMS
Mt. Sinai	Pittsboro	Mattie P. Alston WMS
Piney Grove	Raleigh	Lola Chavis WMS
Poplar Springs	Sanford	Mary Chesney WMS
St. James	Raleigh	Dora Stroud WMS
St. James	Sanford	Ruth B. Waddell WMS
St. John	Raleigh	Hopkins-Matthews WMS
St. Mary	Apex	Arnetta B. Jones WMS
St. Matthew	Raleigh	Julia M. Holt WMS
St. Paul	Raleigh	Addie G. Stroud WMS
Union Bethel	Cary	Mae Hopson WMS
Zion Campbell	Laurinburg	Bethea Wilson WMS

2021 Area Chairperson: Sister Brenda Beatty