# MN Rural Counties Caucus Monday, April 12, 2021 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. This meeting was conducted on the Zoom Platform

## Minutes of Meeting:

Attendees: Luke Johnson, MRC Chairman, Pipestone Co.; Jerry Rapp, MRC Vice-Chair, Douglas Co; Sharon Bring, MRC Sec/Treas., Marshall Co; Don Niemi, Aitkin Co; Barry Nelson, Becker Co; Frank Gross and Jenny Mongeau, Clay Co; Larry Anderson, Cottonwood Co; Keith Englund and Tim Kalina, Douglas Co; Troy Johnson, Grant Co; Dave De La Hunt and Char Christenson, Hubbard Co; Leon Olson, Kittson Co; Wayne Skoe, Koochiching Co; David Geray, Mahnomen Co; Doug Krueger, McLeod Co; Jeff Baldus, Mower Co; Dennis Welgraven, Molly Malone, Murray Co; Molley Malone and Tom Johnson, Nobles Co; Neil Peterson and Bruce Lawrence, Pennington Co; Paul Gerde, Pope Co; Chuck Flage, Red Lake Co; Russ Walker, Roseau Co; Bob Kopitzke and Neil Wiese, Stevens Co; Dave Salberg, Traverse Co; Bill Stearns, Wadena Co; Dennis Larson, Wilkin Co; Mike Kaczmarek, Wright Co; Dan Larson, MRC Executive Director.

#### **MRC Board Meeting Agenda:**

1) Call to Order; 2) Roll Call; 3) Approve Agenda; 4) Denise Wilson, MN Environmental Quality Board; 4a) Nathan Heibel, Koochiching Co. Land Commissioner; 4b) Carli Stark, AMC Public Safety Policy Analyst; 5) Approve March 15, 2021 Minutes); 6) Treasurers Report; 7) Discuss Session Priorities; 8) Other Business; 9) Adjourn.

### 1) Call to Order:

Chairman Johnson called the meeting to order at 10 a.m.

#### 2) Roll Call:

Dan Larson took the roll and a quorum was confirmed.

#### 3) Approve Agenda:

Paul Gerde made a motion to adopt the agenda. Second by Frank Gross. Motion adopted.

#### 4) Denise Wilson, EQB:

Denise outlined the EQB public outreach effort to introduce climate change into the environmental review process and engaged the board in discussion. Dan Larson was directed to draft comments reflecting MRC board concerns that the issue was too wide in scope for the rule making process and should be considered on the larger public stage of the Minnesota Legislature.

#### 4a) Nathan Heibel, Koochiching Co. Land Commissioner

Nathan discussed an issue of emerging concern pertaining to a Hennepin County tax court case on forfeited properties.

# 4b) Carli Stark, AMC Public Safety Policy Analyst:

Carli briefed the board on community corrections and county probation proposals pending before the public safety committees in the House and Senate and urged support.

# 5) Approve March 15, 2021 Minutes:

Dave Salberg made a motion to adopt the March 15, 2021 minutes. Second by Neil Peterson. Motion adopted.

# 6) Treasurers Report:

Sharon Bring gave the financial report. There was one invoice from AMC for \$1,167.57 for first quarter administrative, accounting website, postage, copies and zoom fees. Bob Kopitzke made a motion to accept the report and pay the invoice. Second by Don Niemi. Motion adopted.

7)	<b>Discuss</b>	Session	<b>Priorities:</b>
----	----------------	---------	--------------------

Dan Larson provided an update on priorities related to transportation funding, rural broadband, emergency readiness grants, energy and climate change, individual wild game processors and the county effort on a state-pays solution to the successful Enbridge challenge of DOR valuations.

8) Other Business: Next meeting is May 24, 2021
9) Adjourn: Dave Salberg made a motion to adjourn. Second by David Geray. Motion adopted.
Minutes Approved
Sec / Treasurer