MN Rural Counties Caucus

Tuesday Feb. 12, 2019 Intercontinental Hotel St. Paul, MN 55101

Attendees: Paul Gerde, MRC Chairman, Pope Co; Sharon Bring, MRC Sec/Treas., Marshall Co; Jerry Jacobson, Polk Co; Jim Branstad, Watonwan Co; Barry Nelson, Becker Co; Steve Bommersbach, Norman Co; Bill Pratt, Aitkn Co; Bobbie Harder, Sibley Co; Troy Johnson, Grant Co; Doyle Speer, Grant Co; Keith Swanson, Grant Co; Dave Salberg, Traverse Co; Bob Kopitzke, Stevens Co; Bill Stearns, Wadena Co; Charlie Borrell Wright Co; Frank Gross, Clay Co; Bill Brekken, Crow Wing Co; Larry Anderson, Cottonwood Co; Heather Larson, Tim Kalina and Jerry Rapp, Douglas Co; Randy Kramer, Renville Co; Chuck Whiting, Polk Co; Tom Appel, Cottonwood Co; Neil Wiese and Jeanne Ennen, Stevens Co; Rolland Miller, Marshall Co; Bruce Lawrence Pennington Co; Brad Anderson, Goodhue Co; Sheldon Monson, Wadena Co; Barb Becker and Randy Neumann, Todd Co; Cynthia Bennett, Aitkin Co; Frank Gross, Clay Co; Larry Anderson, Cottonwood Co; Neil Peterson, Pennington Co; Steve Gottwalt, MN Assn. of County Health Plans; Matt Hilgart, AMC; Dan Larson, MRC Executive Director.

- 1) Approve Agenda; 2) Approve Minutes (Jan. 7, 2019); 3) Treasurers Report; 4) Legislative Panel; 5) Break; 6) Name MRC Delegates and Alternates for 2019; 7) Legislative Update and Discussion; 8) Other MRC Business; 9) Adjourn.
- 1) Approve Agenda: Dave Salberg made a motion to adopt the agenda as amended. Second by Troy Johnson. Motion adopted.
- 2) Approve Minutes: Bob Kopitzke made a motion to adopt minutes. Second by Bill Pratt. Motion adopted.
- 3) Treasurers Report: Sharon Bring gave the treasurer's report. Jerry Jacobsen made a motion to adopt the report. Second by Dave Salberg. Motion Adopted.
- 4) Legislative Panel: Sen. Torrey Westrom, Sen. Kent Eken, Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen, Rep. Dan Fabian, and Rep. Paul Marquart participated in a legislative panel discussion pertaining to legislation related to Greater Minnesota county interests.
- 5) Chairman Gerde called a 10 minute break. He called the meeting back to order at 8:40.
- 6) Name MRC Delegates and Alternates for 2019:

County	Delegate	Alternate(s)
Aitkin	Don Niemi	Bill Pratt
Becker	Barry Nelson	Jack Okeson
Big Stone	Wade Athey	All Other Members
Clay	Grant Weyland	Frank Gross
Cottonwood	Kevin Stevens	Larry Anderson
Douglas	Jerry Rapp	Any of the Other Members
Grant	Troy Johnson	Doyle Sperr
Kittson	Leon Olson	All Other Members
Koochiching	Wayne Skoe	Brian McBride
LOW	Cody Hasbargen	All Other Members
Mahnomen	David Geray	Brad Athmann
Marshall	Sharon Bring	Gary Kiesow
McLeod	Doug Krueger	Ron Shimanski
Meeker	Joe Tacheny	All Other Members
Mille Lacs	Roger Tellinghuisen	Dave Oslin
Norman	Steve Jacobson	Nathan Redland

Pennington Don Jensen Neil Peterson All Other Members Polk Jerry Jacobson Pope Paul Gerde Larry Lindor Red Lake Chuck Flage Chuck Simpson Redwood Jim Salfer Lon Walling Roseau Russ Walker Glenda Phillipe Bobby Harder Steve Saxton Sibley Bob Kopitzke Stevens Neil Wiese Todd Dave Kircher Gary Kneisl Traverse Todd Johnson Dave Salberg Bill Stearns All Other Members Wadena Watonwan Jim Branstad Ray Gustafson Lyle Hovland Wilkin Dennis Larson Mike Potter Wright Charlie Borrell

- 7) Legislative Update and Discussion: Steve Gottwalt, MN Assn. of County Health Plans, discussed the benefits of county based purchasing and an initiative by the MN Dept. of Human Services to restrict or eliminate it. Dan Larson reviewed the MRC legislative priorities.
- 8) Other MRC Business: Next meeting will take place November 11th, and be conducted on the GoToMeeting platform.
- 9) Adjourn: Dave Salberg made a motion to adjourn. Second by Bob Kopitzke. Motion adopted.

Minutes Approved	
Sec / Treasurer	