

2020

LEADER OF THE YEAR

30TH ANNIVERSARY

Thank you to our Sponsors





Lawley | NOT-FOR-PROFIT INSURANCE CONSERTIUM





A MESSAGE FROM OUR PRESIDENT & CEO

On the behalf of Leadership Niagara and the Board of Directors, I would like to congratulate all of our honorees!

This year marks our 30th year of bringing together our community to honor outstanding leadership. And what a year it has been! First and foremost, we know you are all working in a variety of situations, are pulled in different directions, and are managing competing priorities more than ever before. We hope you are all taking care of yourselves and your families as well.

Leadership Niagara has just completed some of its most challenging months in our history. As we visioned 2020 and this celebration, who would have dreamed that we would be gathering in this way? If this year has taught us anything it is that leaders must be flexible and able to adapt to new and changing situations. As the pandemic hit, we quickly shifted and changed our program models and operations to continue on a forward path. We are proud to say that in these unprecedented times, we have exemplified our principles of leadership and adaptability, proving that we can arise to any challenge. Each and every one of you have contributed to strengthening the leadership fiber of our organization and that of our community. Whether a participant, facilitator, strategy leader, host site, donor, sponsor, volunteer or alumni - each role is vital to our collective success!

We look forward to forging new ground, strengthening existing relationships, and building for our future together- Thank you!

Elizabeth L. Zulawski,

Elizabeth L. Zulawski

President & CEO

OUR LN TEAM



Liz Zulawski President & CEO



Noelle McCoy Program Manager

BOARD OF DIRECTORS



Daniel R. Aikin, LN '10, LYNC '03

Key Investment Services

CHAIRMEN



Diana Henry, LN '05

CannonDesign

FIRST VICE CHAIR



Christopher Carey, LN '19

NY Power Authority

SECOND VICE CHAIR



Mark Laurrie, LN '97

Niagara Falls City

School District

TREASURER



Heather Lyon, PhD., LN '14

Lewiston Porter Central

School District

SECRETARY



Chuck Bell, LN '06

H. Sicherman Community
Development Studio



Sara Carella, LN '11
Pinnacle Community Services



Tod Kniazuk, LN '15 City of Buffalo



Roscoe Naguit, LN '16

Niagara Global

Tourism Institute



Joseph Steinmetz, Jr., LN '07

Orleans Niagara BOCES



Anthony Suess, LN '11

Niagara County

Sheriff's Office



Patricia Wrobel, LN '12 **Niagara University**



Lifetime Achievement

Sheriff James Voutour (Ret.), LN '08 Niagara County Sheriff's Office

Youth Leader of the Year

Rosmeri Shallenberger, LYNC '20 Orleans Niagara BOCES/Niagara Academy

Emerging Leader

Kory Schuler, LN '16 Niagara USA Chamber

Distinguished Alumni

Annette Tomlin, LN '08 Bank on Buffalo

Organization of the Year

Niagara Military Affairs Council (NIMAC)

Leader of the Year

Robyn Krueger, LN '04, Community Missions of Niagara Frontier Inc.



Leadership Niagara would like to thank our Alamni Committee for assisting us in creating this event,

Julie Berrigan, LN '16
Chris Carey, LN '19
Stephanie Donovan, LN '14
Sabrina Faso, LN '19
Michael Freedman, LN '15
Karrie Gebhardt, LN '17
Andrea Gray, LN '14
Bonnie Kane, LN '17
Tod Kniazuk, LN '15
Tony Maggiotto, Jr., LN '19
Roscoe Naguit, LN '16
Brian Rock
Diedre Rutherford, LN '16
Joseph Steinmetz, Jr., LN '07
Patti Wrobel, LN '12

Thank You!

2020 HONOREES

LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT



Sheriff James Voutour (Ret.), LN '08

Niagara County Sheriff's Office

About James Voutour

YOUTH LEADER OF THE YEAR



Rosmeri Shallenberger, LYNC '20 Niagara Academy/Orleans Niagara BOCES

About Rosmeri Shallenberger

EMERGING LEADER



Kory Schuler, LN '16 Niagara USA Chamber

DISTINGUISHED ALUMNI



Annette Tomlin, LN '08

Bank On Buffalo

About Kory Schuler

About Annette Tomlin

2020 HONOREES



About NIMAC

Text LEADERSHIP To 716-419-3838

To give and support Leadership Niagara in honor of our 30th anniversary celebrating outstanding leadership in the region.

POWERED BY



LEADER OF THE YEAR



Robyn Krueger, LN '04

Community Missions of Niagara Frontier Inc.

About Robyn Kruger

30 Years of Honoring Leaders

1990 Senator John B. Daly

1991 Legislator Lee Simonson

1992 Henry Kalfas

1994 Peter K. Wendel

1995 Ronald Danielwicz & William G. Mayne Jr.

1996 Alan Rae, PhD

1997 Senator George Maziarz & Mark Francis

1998 Jane Haenle LN '84 & Richard Soluri

1999 Kathleen Granchelli & John Hoffman

2000 Joan G. Aul & Thomas A. Beilein

2001 Jerald Wolfgang

2002 Matthew J. Murphy, III

2003 G. Michael Brown

2004 Christa Caldwell

2005 Merrell Lane & John Cooper

2006 Henry Sloma & Bob Confer LN '07

2007 Carol Houwaart- Diez

2008 Frank Strangio

2010 Jerome Williams

2011 Kenneth Franasiak

2012 John Koelmel

2013 Rev. Joseph L. Lesvesque, C.M.

2014 Sheriff James R. Voutour LN '08

2015 Cathy Walker

2016 John Percy

2017 Sara Capen LN '16

2018 Tom Lowe, LN '14

2019 Rev. James J. Maher, C.M.



Lawley CONS RTIUM

Congratulations to Robyn Krueger Leader of the Year from Lawley and the NFPIC

lawleyinsurance.com





Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient

Annette Tomlin and to all of this year's Leadership Niagara honorees.



Buffalo Banking, Built Buffalo Strong. BankOnBuffalo.bank

MEMBER FDIC



WE BRING OUT THE LEADER IN YOU

WNY's premier leadership resource

Join the Class of 2021

Learn More Here



- Binational program serving Western New York and Southern Ontario
- Sessions designed and taught by regional leaders and industry experts
- Coaching and Mentoring Program
- Personal Leadership Development Program
- Participants may receive graduate-level credit from Niagara University

