

# Village of Lily Lake

Regular Board Meeting Approved Minutes February 27, 2022

## **Call to Order**

President Overstreet called the Board of Trustees meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. with the Pledge of Allegiance.

#### **Roll Call**

**Present:** President Rick Overstreet, Trustee Pam Conn, Trustee Mary Damisch, Trustee Kelly Diehl, Trustee Michael Florian and Trustee Travis Parry.

Absent: Trustee Tim Dell

Also Present: Alex McTavish (Village Attorney), Jesse Heffernan (Village Clerk), Juliette Kerr (Village Deputy Clerk), Lisa Engberg

(Village Treasurer)

Public/Guests (signed in and legible): Laura Szopinski, Donna Ryterske, Mary Ormond Beth & Rory Conran, Randy & Janice Hill, David Anderson, Jeff Lee, Ted & Debbie Roberts, Charles Harrell, Li Gallon-Harrell, Ilma Stajer, Edie Norris, Bill Wykle, Steve DeMarco, Doug Romando, Susan Mydlach, Craig Sennett, John & Christina Andreacchi, Lisa Garbacz, Nancy Corbige, Steve Thuer,

Rich Rushing

# Adoption of the Agenda

Motion by Trustee Conn, seconded by Trustee Florian, to adopt the February 27, 2023 Agenda as presented. *Voice vote, motion passed unanimously.* 

# Approval of the January 23, 2023 Regular Board Meeting Minutes

Motion by Trustee Damisch, seconded by Trustee Parry, to accept the minutes of the January 23, 2023 Regular Board Meeting as presented.

Voice vote, motion passed unanimously.

#### **Guests and Public Comment**

President Overstreet opened up Public Comment to all attendees, but made it clear that Public Comment time was not to be used as a Candidate's open forum. No debates between candidates will be held at this time. If anyone has a comment to make or a question for the Board, they are welcome to speak now.

- A resident asked, who of the current Board Trustees, is not running for re-election?
  - Trustee Damisch and Trustee Florian stated they are not running for re-election of their trustee seats. Trustee
    Damisch explained alternating election positions of the municipality every 2 years, 3 full-term positions are up for election, the next 2 years, 3 full-term and the president's positions are up.
- Mr. Overstreet answered no to the question of running for Plan Commission Chair (this is an appointed position).
  No further comments or questions presented.

# Resolution 2023-04 Approving MFT Funds of \$60,000 for the 2023 Road Maintenance Program

Motion by Trustee Parry, seconded by Trustee Diehl to approve Resolution 2023-04. Brief discussion recapping the 2023 Road Maintenance Program which includes repaving of the Cochise neighborhood and south Wooley Rd. with some patching/repairs of SSVI cul-de-sacs. This resolution specifically allocates \$60,000 of MFT funds to the overall project. No further discussion. *Roll call Vote, motion passed unanimously.* 

# Resolution 2023-05 Approving (MFT) Rebuild Illinois Fund of \$65,442.60 for the 2023 Road Maintenance Program

Motion by Trustee Conn, seconded by Trustee Florian to approve Resolution 2023-05. This resolution provides further MFT funding towards the 2023 Road Maintenance Program, specifically using the full Rebuild Illinois Funds, totaling \$65,442.60.

No further discussion. Roll call Vote, motion passed unanimously.

## **Approve Bills**

Motion by Trustee Damisch, seconded by Trustee Diehl to approve the Monthly Bills for January/February 2023. *Roll Call vote, motion passed unanimously.* 

#### **Old Business**

Trustee Florian wanted to state on public record that this Board, as of this meeting today, 1/23/2023, has not voted on the gas station PUD. There are comments and rumors stating the PUD application is a "done deal". That is not the case; this Board has not voted for or against the PUD, and is still waiting for more required documentation.

Clerk Heffernan mentioned the transfer of \$450 from "Training" and "Grants" within the Development fund to "Misc Expenditures" in the same fund to cover the use of Grace Lutheran expenses for the 1/31/23 Public Hearing. The actual amount was fully reimbursed by the applicant, but needs to be accounted for in our budget. This transfer does not affect the overall approved appropriations ordinance.

President Overstreet reiterated the Village Board's "no action" status on the applied PUD for the corner of Rt 47 and Rt 64. The developer still has information to provide regarding their IDOT application and other requested engineering data.

#### **New Business**

President Overstreet took this time to announce his choice not to run for re-election and to recognize this meeting as his last. Next month he will be unavailable to run the Board meeting and will task Attorney McTavish with the procedure to appoint a stand-in President. Overstreet noted the consolidated election will be held on 4/4/2023; April 24th Board meeting will see a new President and new Board members. President Overstreet will continue his regular responsibilities as President until the 24th of April. Overstreet expressed his honor and gratitude in serving as President over the last 7 years and as Trustee for 7 years prior to his Presidency. He thanked the current Plan Commission members, Dan Turner, Glenn Bork, Cheryl Pollak, and Jeff Lee; Village Treasurer Lisa Engberg; Village Attorney Alex McTavish; Deputy Clerk Juliette Kerr; the current Board of Trustees: Pam Conn, Mary Damisch, Tim Dell, Kelly Diehl, Mike Florian and Travis Parry; Special thanks to Mary Damish who is stepping down as Trustee after serving Lily Lake for the past 16 years, and Mike Florian for serving 10 years. Special thanks to Public Works Director Erik Hoofnagle for encouraging him to attend meetings and seek election. Last, thanks to Clerk Heffernan who, without, would have made this job much more difficult and "a lot less fun!!" President Overstreet spoke of the honor to serve with those mentioned, to serve the residents of this Village, and offered "best wishes" to the next President and new Board members.

APPLAUSE & STANDING OVATION in recognition of President Overstreet's speech and service

## Adjournment

Motion by Trustee Parry, seconded by Trustee Damisch to adjourn at 7:43 p.m. *Voice vote, motion passed unanimously.* 

Respectfully submitted by: Jesse Heffernan; Village Clerk