Undefeated Wrestlers

**18 participants without a loss from 14 weight classes

Division I

- 132 Zack Donathan (Mason) and Jarrod Brezovec (Auroa)
- 152 Jaden Mattox (Central Crossing)
- 182 Victor Marcelli (Massillon Jackson)
- 285 Ben Frye (Dublin Coffman)

Division II

- 113 Tim Young (Steubenville)
- 120 Jordan Crace (St. Paris Graham)
- 152 Rocky Jordan (St. Paris Graham)
- 160 Georgio Poullas (Canfield)
- 170 Dimitri Williams (New Lexington)
- 182 Aidan Pasiuk (Carrollton)

Division III

- 145 Derek Gross (Norwalk St. Paul)
- 170 Kaleb Romero (Mechanicsburg)
- 195 Gaige Willis (Pymatuning Valley) and Daniel Beemer (Ottawa-Glandorf)
- 285 Derek Smith (Defiance Tinora), Francesco Borsellino (Sandy Valley), and Cameron Coffman (Dixie)

2016: 5 undefeated state champions from 13 weight classes, 16 individuals (4 2^{nd} , 2 3^{rd} , 1 4^{th} , 1 5^{th} , 1 6^{th} , 1 7^{th} , 1 DNP); 2015: 6 from 13, 14 individuals (2 2^{nd} , 2 4^{th} , 2 5^{th} , 1 8^{th} , 1 DNP); 2014: 6 from 13 (others – 3 2^{nd} , 3 3^{rd} , 1 7^{th}); 2013: 11 from 17, 22 individuals (others – 7 2^{nd} , 2 3^{rd} , 1 4^{th} , 1 DNP); 2012: 9 from 17, 18 individuals (others – 1 2^{nd} , 4 3^{rd} , 1 4^{th} , 1 5^{th} , 2 DNP); 2011: 10 from 15, 19 individuals (others – 5 2^{nd} , 3 3^{rd} , 1 6^{th}); 2010: 7 from 16, 18 individuals (others – 6 2^{nd} , 3 3^{rd} , 2 6^{th}); 2009: 9 from 15, 17 individuals (others – 1 2^{nd} , 2 3^{rd} , 1 4^{th} , 1 5^{th} , 2 6^{th} , 1 8^{th}); 2008: 10 from 12, 16 individuals (others – 2 2^{nd} , 1 3^{rd} , 1 4^{th} , 1 6^{th} , 1 8^{th}); 2007: 6 from 15, 16 individuals (others – 6 2^{nd} , 1 3^{rd} , 3 7^{th})

<u>Defending State champions</u> *14 overall in 17 different weight classes

Division I

- 120: Bryce Andonian (St. Edward), Brandon Fenton (Elyria)
- 152: David Carr (Massillon Perry), Jaden Mattox (Grove City Central Crossing)
- 160: Kyle Lawson (Olentangy Liberty)
- 182: Kaden Russell (St. Ignatius)

Division II

- 132: Mitch Moore (St. Paris Graham)
- 145: Kevon Freeman (Lake Catholic)
- 152: Rocky Jordan (St. Paris Graham)
- 160: Georgio Poullas (Canfield)

Division III

- 113: Dylan D'Emilio (Genoa)
- 120: Tommy Hoskins (Legacy Christian)
- 126: Drew Mattin (Delta)
- 170: Kaleb Romero (Mechanicsburg)

182: James Handwerk (Lutheran West), Zach Steiner (Norwayne)

220: Ben Sullivan (National Trail)

NOTE – Will Bolanz (Waterloo) did not qualify for state in the 195 pound weight class, so his name is not on the listing

2016: 14 defending state champions repeated out of 21 total (20 possible) – excludes Andrew McNally; 2015: 9 defending state champions repeated out of 15 total (14 possible); 2014: 12 defending state champions repeated out of 18 total (17 possible); 2013: 11 defending state champions repeated out of 17 total (16 possible); 2012: 19 defending state champions repeated out of 23 total (19 possible) – excludes Felipe Martinez; 2011: 13 defending state champions repeated, out of 16 total; 2010: 15 defending state champions repeated, out of 21 total (20 possible); 2009: 13 repeated out of 15 total; 2008: 11 repeated out of 18 total (17 possible)

Other returning state champions

Division I

113: Cameron Yates (Anthony Wayne)

132: Allan Hart (St. Edward)

145: Dominick Demas (Dublin Coffman)

285: Kevin Vough (Elyria)

2016: 1 of 2 regained a state title; 2015: 4 of 4 regained a state title; 2014: 2 of 3 regained a state title; 2013: 0 of 1 regained a state title; 2012: 0 of 1 regained a state title, that individual lost to defending state champion in final; 2011: 1 of 3 regained a state title; 2010: 2 of 3 regained a state title, the other was in a weight class with a defending state champion preset; 2009: 1 of 2 regained a state title, the other was in a weight class with a defending state champion; 2008: 2 of 4 regained a state title, the other two lost in weight classes with defending state champions

Wrestlers seeking to become four-time state placers

Brady Barnett (Milan Edison) – Division III, 138 pounds – previous finishes were 6th, 2nd, 2nd Dominick Demas (Dublin Coffman) – Division I, 145 pounds – previous finishes were 6th, 1st, 2nd Derek Gross (Norwalk St. Paul) – Division III, 145 pounds – previous finishes were 4th, 2nd, 4th Moises Guillen (Perrysburg) – Division I, 138 pounds – previous finishes were 7th, 3rd, 2nd Allan Hart (St. Edward) – Division I, 132 pounds – previous finishes were 7th, 1st, 3rd Nick Kiussis (Brunswick) – Division I, 160 pounds – previous finishes were 2nd, 2nd, 2nd Hunter Kosco (Canal Fulton Northwest) – Division II, 126 pounds – previous finishes were 5th, 3rd, 5th Kyle Lawson (Olentangy Liberty) – Division I, 160 pounds – previous finishes were 1st, 1st, 1st Drew Mattin (Delta) – Division III, 126 pounds – previous finishes were 3rd, 1st, 1st Georgio Poullas (Canfield) – Division III, 160 pounds – previous finishes were 6th, 6th, 1st Greg Quinn (Shadyside) – Division III, 113 pounds – previous finishes were 6th, 4th, 2nd Kaleb Romero (Mechanicsburg) – Division III, 170 pounds – previous finishes were 2nd, 3rd, 1st Ben Sullivan (National Trail) – Division III, 220 pounds – previous finishes were 2nd, 3rd, 1st Kevin Vough (Elyria) – Division I, 285 pounds – previous finishes were 3rd, 1st, 2nd

Wrestlers seeking to become the first state finalist in their school program's history

John Kelbly (Smithville) – Division III, 195 pounds Daniel Beemer (Ottawa Glandorf) – Division III, 195 pounds Brandon Lucas, Jake Henderson (Western Brown) – Division II, 113 and 152 pounds Luciano Mendicino (Granville) – Division II, 152 pounds Stone Day (Valley View) – Division II, 195 pounds Jud Ramage (Meadowbrook) – Division II, 195 pounds Karson Chasteen (Hamilton Ross) – Division II, 285 pounds Joseph Cochran (Springfield) – Division I, 195 pounds Michael Carter (Cincinnati Northwest) – Division I, 220 pounds

Wrestlers seeking to become the first state champion in their school program's history

Logan Kissell (Garrettsville Garfield) – Division III, 132 pounds
Gaige Willis (Pymatuning Valley) – Division III, 195 pounds
Ben Pasiuk, Aidan Pasiuk (Carrollton) – Division II, 132 and 182 pounds
Devin Williams (Shelby) – Division II, 285 pounds
Jared Ball (Hilliard Darby) – Division I, 182 pounds
Max Wright (Delaware Hayes) – Division I, 195 pounds

Long time/first time (long droughts for schools without a state champion)

Cin. LaSalle – last title 1976; Max Byrd, Corey Shie: Division I, 106 and 138 pounds Circleville – last title 1980; Nate Keaton: Divison II, 113 pounds Akron Hoban – last title 1983; Lukus Stricker: Division II, 120 pounds Alliance – last title 1984; Jerrell Martin: Division II, 195 pounds Grand Valley – last title 1984; Cody Rhoads: Division III, 145 pounds Licking Hts – last title 1985; Josiah Harrell: Division I, 170 pounds Midview – last title 1985; Spencer Berthold: Division I, 220 pounds Louisville – last title 1985; Jimmy Leonard: Division I, 195 pounds