MRC Board of Directors Sunday, December 5, 2021 5:00 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. Bloomington Room DoubleTree Bloomington

Call to Order:

Chairman Johnson called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m. and led the pledge of allegiance. He welcomed Lincoln County as the newest, and 36th MRC member, before directing Dan Larson to take the roll.

Attendees: Luke Johnson, MRC Chairman, Pipestone Co.; Jerry Rapp, MRC Vice-Chair, Douglas Co; Sharon Bring, MRC Sec/Treas., Marshall Co; Anne Marcotte, Aitkin Co; Barry Nelson, Becker Co; Frank Gross, Wade Athey, Big Stone Co; Clay Co; Larry Anderson and Kevin Stevens, Cottonwood Co; Tim Kalina, Keith Englund, Charlie Mever and Heather Larson. Douglas Co: Troy Johnson and Bill LaValley. Grant Co: Char Christenson. Hubbard Co; Wayne Skoe and Theresia Gillie, Koochiching Co; Leon Olson and Darrel Johnson, Kittson Co; David Geray, Mahnomen Co; Doug Krueger and Nathan Schmalz, McLeod Co; Steve Schmitt and Paul Johnson, Meeker Co; Jeff Baldus, Mower Co; Dennis Welgraven and Molly Malone, Murray Co; Bob Paplow, Nobles Co; Neil Peterson and Bruce Lawrence, Pennington Co; Joan Lee, Warren Strandell and Rich Sanders, Polk Co; Paul Gerde and Cody Rogahn, Pope Co; Chuck Flage, Red Lake Co; Bob Van Hee, Redwood Co; Russ Walker and John Horner, Roseau Co; Bob Kopitzke, Jeanne Ennen, Ron Staples, Donnie Wohlers, Neil Wiese, Stevens Co; Dave Kircher, Randy and Neumann, Todd Co; Dave Salberg, Traverse Co; Sheldon Monson, Murilyn Kreklau, Ryan Otten, Heather Olson and Michael Weyer, Wadena Co; Jim Branstad, Watonwan Co; Dennis Larson, Wilkin Co; Mike Kaczmarek and Mary Weller, Wright Co. Marcia Ward, Winona Co; Joe Perske and Chelle Benson, Stearns Co; Leo Trunt, Itasca Co; Scott Peters, Marshall Co. Administrator; Pat Veraguth, Douglas Co. Surveyor; Matt Freeman and Brian Martinson, AMC; Garry Johanson, Norman Co. Emergency Mgr; Dan Larson, MRC Executive Director.

A quorum was announced.

Chairman Johnson called for a motion to combine action on the agenda, minutes and treasurer's report. The motion was approved by consensus.

1) Approve Agenda:

1) Approve Agenda; 2) Approve Minutes (Oct. 18, 2021); 3) MRC Finances and Reimbursements; 4) MRC Calendar 2022; 5) MRC Policy Review and Approval; 6) MRC Lobby Work Group Report and Recommendations; 7) MRC Issue Priorities and Approval; 8) Other Business; 9) Adjourn

Bob Kapitzke made a motion to approve the agenda with the addition of Pat Veraguth, Douglas Co. Surveyor to MRC Issues Priorities Approval. Second by Doug Kruger. Motion adopted.

2) Approve October 18, 2021 Minutes:

Dave Salberg made a motion to adopt the October 18, 2021 minutes. Second by Dennis Larson. Motion adopted.

3) Treasurer's Report:

Sharon Bring reported invoices to AMC for the following:AMC Administrative Services Q3\$583.25AMC Accounting Services Q3\$125.00Website\$187.50Postage July – September\$3.64Copier July - September\$17.34

Fall Policy Conference Room Rental 8x8 Projection Screen Two Wireless Mics Food/Beverages	\$75.00 \$20.00 \$200.00 \$121.07
AMC Fall Policy Mtg.	\$250.00
Total AMC Invoice	\$1,582.80
MRC September 15t ^h Mtg: Broadway Ballroom	\$566.41
Dan Larson Lodging	\$140.94
Mileage	\$170.24
Copies	<u>\$34.94</u>
Total Dan Larson Reimbursement	\$346.10

Jim Brandstad made a motion to approve the treasurer's report and reimbursements. Second by Neil Peterson. Motion adopted.

4) MRC Calendar 2022:

Dan Larson presented the proposed 2022 MRC board meeting calendar:

*NOTE - The January 10th start time reflects a change to 10:30 (from the calendar approved 12/5) due to Douglas Co. Board Room availability.

Monday, January, 10	10:30 a.m. – 1 p.m.
Monday, February 7	10 a.m. – 1 p.m.
Tuesday, March 1	5 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.
Monday, April 4	10 a.m. – 1 p.m.
Monday, May 9	10 a.m. – 1 p.m.
Monday May 23	1 p.m. – 4 p.m.
Wednesday, September 14	7 p.m. – 9 p.m.
Monday, October 10	8:30 a.m. – 1 p.m.
Sunday, December 4	5 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Steve Schmitt made a motion to adopt the 2022 calendar. Second by Dennis Welgraven. Motion adopted.

5) MRC Policy Review and Approval:

Dan Larson recommended deleting language from the broadband policy reflecting support for the 2021 initiative, to be replaced with Rural Broadband Coalition proposed language for 2022, upon RBC approval and MRC review. Doug Krueger made a motion to eliminate the antiquated policy. Second by Bob Kapitzke. Motion adopted.

6) MRC Lobby Work Group Report and Recommendations:

Lobby Work Group members Steve Schmitt, Luke Johnson and Dave Kircher reported the following: The lobby work group addressed a question raised at the October meeting about developing ways to enhance MRC's government affairs presence. Work group recommendations presented at the December 5th meeting included:

- No dues increase for this purpose.

- Create a special projects fund to meet budgetary needs for issues the board wants to put additional emphasis on.

- Continue to build strength though membership.

- Explore encouraging members to participate in state-funded Political Campaign Refund program.

- Continue to build messaging defining cornerstones of rural culture and economy.

Dan Larson was directed to survey membership on their willingness to voluntarily participate in this program.

7) MRC Issue Priorities and Approval:

The board reviewed the priorities as presented, voicing initial preference for transportation funding, countybased purchasing, modernizing the antiquated HHS computer system, rural broadband funding emergency readiness grants, Greater MN hospitals, retaining mental health workers, PILT, public waters inventory, and ICWA. Douglas Co., surveyor, Pat Veraguth, urged the board to support surveyor efforts on the re-survying and re-monumentation act.

Support surveyor effort on re-surveying and re-monumentation Act, Support Public Waters Inventory and Oppose new Truth-in-Taxation rules were added to the list at the meeting.

Luke Johnson suggested MRC support the following language pertaining to the public waters inventory: MRC supports maintaining the regulatory certainty of public waters designations established under the Public Waters Inventory Program. Steve Schmitt made a motion to adopt the language as presented. Second by Neil Peterson. Motion adopted.

Dan Larson was directed to prepare a draft priorities document for review and action at the January 10th meeting.

8) Other business:

Next meeting is January 10th.

9) Adjourn:

Paul Gerde made a motion to adjourn. Second by Dave Salberg. Motion adopted.

Minutes Approved

Sec / Treasurer

•••