# MN Rural Counties Board Minutes Monday, February 8, 2021 10 a.m. – 1 p.m. The meeting was conducted on the Zoom platform

# **Minutes of Meeting:**

Attendees: Luke Johnson, MRC Chairman, Pipestone Co.; Jerry Rapp MRC Vice-Chair, Douglas Co; Sharon Bring, Marshall Co. and MRC Sec/Treas., Don Niemi, Aitkin Co; Barry Nelson, Becker Co; Frank Gross, Clay Co; Larry Anderson, Cottonwood Co; Keith Englund and Tim Kalina, Douglas Co; Troy Johnson, Grant Co; Dave De La Hunt and Ted Van Kempen, Hubbard Co; Leon Olson, Kittson Co; Wayne Skoe, Koochiching Co; Doug Krueger and Daryl Luthens, McLeod Co; Jeff Baldus and Polly Glynn, Mower Co; Dennis Welgraven, Molly Malone, Murray Co; Gene Metz, Nobles Co; Neil Peterson and Bruce Lawrence, Pennington Co; J.J. Waldham, Pine Co; Dallas Roskamp, Pipestone Co; Jerry Jacobson, Polk Co; Paul Gerde,Pope Co; Chuck Flage, Red Lake Co; Russ Walker and John Horner, Roseau Co; Bob Kopitzke and Neil Wiese, Stevens Co; Dave Salberg, Traverse Co; Bill Stearns, Wadena Co; Jim Branstad and Bill Miller, Watonwan Co; Dennis Larson, Wilkin Co; Mike Kaczmarek, Wright Co; Kim Berns-Melhus and Emilee Nelson, The Conservation Fund; Amber Backhus, MN Automobile Dealers; Brian Martinson, AMC; Dan Larson, MRC Executive Director.

# MRC Board Meeting Agenda:

 Approve Agenda; 2) Speaker: Kim Berns-Melhus and Emilee Nelson, The Conservation Fund; 3) Speaker: Amber Backhus, MN Auto Dealers Assn.; 4) Speaker: Nathan Zacharias, MN Rural Broadband Coalition; 5) Approve Minutes; 6) Treasurer's Report; 7) Name MRC Delegates and Alternates 2021; 8) Discuss \$500 to MN Rural Broadband Coalition; 9) Discuss MRC Session Priorities; 10) Other Business; 11) Adourn

Chairman Johnson called the meeting to order at 10 a.m. and asked Dan Larson to take the roll. The roll was taken and a quorum was present.

Chairman Johnson asked for approval of the agenda:

# 1) Approve Agenda:

Jeff Baldus made a motion to adopt the agenda. Second by Don Niemi. Motion adopted.

2) Kim Berns-Melhus and Emilee Nelson, The Conservation Fund. The speakers provided details on the Potlach land sale to TCF.

# 3) Amber Backhus, MN Auto Dealers Assn.

The speaker discussed MADA opposition to the Clean Car MN rule.

# 4) Nathan Zacharias, MN Rural Broadband Coalition.

The speaker reminded the board about the broadband speed goal testing and offered ways to help counties participate.

# 5) Approve Minutes (January 4, 2021):

Jim Brandstad made a motion to adopt the January 4, 2021 minutes. Second by Dennis Larson. Motion adopted.

#### 6) MRC Treasurers Report:

Sharon Bring gave the treasurers report. Bill Stearns made a motion to adopt the report. Second by Paul Gerde. Motion adopted.

# 7) Name 2021 MRC Delegates/Alternates:

County	Delegate	Alternate(s)
Aitkin	Don Niemi	Laurie Westerlund
Becker	Barry Nelson	All Other Members
Big Stone	Wade Athey	All Other Members
Clay	Frank Gross	Jenny Mongeau
Cottonwood	Larry Anderson	Kevin Stevens
Douglas	Jerry Rapp	All Other Members
Grant	Troy Johnson	Doyle Sperr
Hubbard	Dave De La Hunt	All Other Members

Kittson Koochichina LOW Mahnomen Marshall McLeod Meeker Mille Lacs Mower Murray Nobles Norman Pennington Pine Pipestone Polk Pope Red Lake Redwood Roseau Stevens Todd Traverse Wadena Watonwan Wilkin Wright

Leon Olson Wavne Skoe Cody Hasbargen David Geray Sharon Bring Doug Krueger Steve Schmitt Roger Tellinghuisen Jeff Baldus Dennis Welgraven Gene Metz Steve Bommersbach Neil Peterson Stephen Hallan Luke Johnson Jerry Jacobson Paul Gerde Chuck Flage Jim Salfer Russ Walker Bob Kopitzke Dave Kircher Dave Salberg Bill Stearns Jim Branstad Dennis Larson Mike Kaczmarek

All Other Members All Other Members All Other Members All Other Members Garv Kiesow All Other Members Julie Bredeson Dave Oslin All Other Members All Other Members All Other Members Nathan Redland Bruce Lawrence All Other Members All Other Members All Other Members Larry Lindor Tony Gerardy Bob Van Hee All Other Members Neil Wiese Gary Kneisl Todd Johnson All Other Members **Bill Miller** All Other Members Mary Wetter

# 8) Discuss \$500 to MN Rural Broadband Coalition

Sharon Bring made a motion to gather more information on MN Rural Broadband Coalition finances before considering a \$500 contribution. Second by Don Niemi. The motion failed. Jim Bradus made a motion to contribute \$500 to MRBC to become a governing member. Second by Jeff Baldus. Motion adopted.

# 9) Session Update and Discussion:

Dan Larson provided a preview of the legislative session where legislators will work to balance a \$1.3 billion budget shortfall.

# 10) Other Business:

Next meeting is March 15th.

# 11) Adjourn:

Dave Salberg made a motion to adjourn. Second by Doug Krueger. Motion adopted.

Minutes Approved	<u></u>
------------------	---------

Sec / Treasurer	
-----------------	--

•••