ASATA Trapshooting Report

Name of Club:Birchwood Recreation Shooting ParkCity:North BirchwoodName of Shoot:Alaska State ShootDate:July 17, 2016Reporter:Jenn GearyP.O. Box 671750Chugiak, AK 99657-1750Phone Contact:907 – 244-1897

Weather: Clear beautiful day we reached a high of 74.

Event: 2016 Alaska State & Zone Doubles Championship

Number Entered: 54

Champion Runner-Up Champion AA Champion A Champion B Champion C Champion D Champion Lady I Lady II Sub Junior Junior	Brian "Stubby" Hughes Ben Olsen Brian Stoa John Farner Jim Fleming Bob Setren Wayne Jensen Jenn Geary Carol McConahy Garrett Horne Bailey Horne	Fairbanks Chugiak Eagle River Eagle River Anchorage Eielson AFB Anchorage Wasilla Fairbanks Soldotna	AK AK AK AK AK AK AK AK AK	 94 93 87 91 92 91 84 55 71 76 90 	of of of of of of of of of of of	100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100
C Champion	Bob Setren	Eielson AFB	AK	91	of	100
D Champion	Wayne Jensen	Anchorage	AK	84	of	100
Lady I	Jenn Geary	Wasilla	AK	55	of	100
Lady II	Carol McConahy	Fairbanks	AK	71	of	100
Sub Junior	Garrett Horne	Soldotna	AK	76	of	100
Junior	Bailey Horne	Soldotna	AK	90	of	100
Sub Veteran	Fred Wilson	Juneau	AK	72	of	100
Veteran	Wally Smith	Fairbanks	AK	94	of	100
Sr. Veteran	Dave Inman	Anchor Point	AK	87	of	100
Non-Res Champion	Shirley Hayes	Durand	MI	76	of	100
Non-Res Runner-Up Champion	Melvin Keeney	Belle	MO	59	of	100

Shoot-offs: Lady II was a tie with Carol Inman & Carol McConahy, the Carol's battled it out and after two rounds McConahy is our 2016 Lady II Doubles Champion. Champion saw a shoot off between the two Fairbanks guys – Stubby Hughes and Wally Smith. Wally a former State Champion was unable to hold off Stubby during the shoot off. Wally is our State Veteran Champion and Stubby Hughes is the 2016 State Doubles Champion. Good shooting.

Event: 2015 Alaska State Handicap Champion

Number Entered: 60

Champion	Brett Nieder	Anchorage	AK	95	of	100
Runner-up Champion	Jim Fleming	Anchorage	AK	95	of	100
Third Place	John Farner	Eagle River	AK	94	of	100
Fourth Place	Jerry Wasson	Eagle River	AK	93	of	100
Fifth Place	Mike Grant	Fairbanks	AK	92	of	100
Sixth Place	Clint Brooks	Fairbanks	AK	90	of	100
Lady I	Jenn Geary	Wasilla	AK	70	of	100
Lady II	Karen Gardner	North Pole	AK	87	of	100
Junior	Bailey Horne	Soldotna	AK	95	of	100

Sub Junior	Garrett Horne	Soldotna	AK	89	of	100
Sub Veteran	Stubby Hughes	Fairbanks	AK	88	of	100
Veteran	Wally Smith	Fairbanks	AK	88	of	100
Sr. Veteran	Jay Davis	Juneau	AK	88	of	100
Nonresident Champion	Joe Tollefson	Kiel	WI	85	of	100
Nonresident Runner-Up	Melvin Keeney	Belle	MO	77	of	100
Champion	Mervin Keeney					

Shoot-offs:

High Sub Vet was a tie between Jerry Godkin from Juneau and Stubby Hughes from Fairbanks, Jerry had to get to back to Juneau, allowing Stubby to take High Sub Vet and same some ammo too.

Champion saw a three way tie with Junior shooter Bailey Horne, Brett Nieder and Jim Flemming. All ended up with trophies, but Brett Nieder won the shoot off to be the 2016 Alaska State Handicap Champion.

2016 Alaska State High Over All (Events 4-12)

		T ' 1 1	A TZ	000	c	1000
Champion	Brian "Stubby" Hughes	Fairbanks	AK	929	of	1000
Runner-Up Champion	Pete Hudson	Juneau	AK	921	of	1000
AA Champion	Brian Stoa	Eagle River	AK	917	of	1000
A Champion	Brett Nieder	Anchoarge	AK	914	of	1000
B Champion	Ben Olsen	Chugiak	AK	900	of	1000
C Champion	Charles Scherer	Palmer	AK	882	of	1000
D Champion	Jerry Wasson	Eagle River	AK	850	of	1000
High Lady	Carol Inman	Anchor Point	AK	838	of	1000
High Sub Junior	Garrett Horne	Soldotna	AK	822	of	1000
High Junior	Bailey Horne	Soldotna	AK	907	of	1000
Veteran	Wally Smith	Fairbanks	AK	897	of	1000
Sr. Veteran	Dave Inman	Anchor Point	AK	907	of	1000
Non-Res Champion	Melvin Keeney	Belle	MO	714	of	1000
1	•					

Shoot off: Jay Davis and Ben Olsen tied for B Class HOA, Jay forfeited.

2016 Alaska State Handicap High All Around

(HAA is a combination of the scores from the State Singles Championship, State Handicap Championship and State Doubles Championship.)

Champion	Jim Fleming	Anchorage	AK	383	of	400
Runner-up Champion	John Farner	Eagle River	AK	374	of	400
Lady	Caron Inman	Anchor Point	AK	338	of	400
Sub-Junior	Garrett Horne	Soldotna	AK	340	of	400
Junior	Bailey Horne	Soldotna	AK	371	of	400
Veteran	Wally Smith	Fairbanks	AK	370	of	400
Sr. Veteran	Dave Inman	Anchor Point	AK	365	of	400
Nonresident Champion	Shirley Hayes	Durand	MI	317	of	400

Nonresident Runner-Up Champion	Melvin Keeney	Belle	MO	284	of	400

2015 Western Zone State Class HOA

AA Class Champion	Jim Fleming	Anchorage	AK	383	of	400
A Class Champion	John Farner	Eagle River	AK	374	of	400
B Class Champion	Ben Olsen	Chugiak	AK	360	of	400
C Class Champion	Wayne Bertholl	Juneau	AK	352	of	400
D Class Champion	Wayne Jensen	Anchorage	AK	348	of	400

Special Presidents' Trap/Skeet Award – This award was sponsored by Dave Kaiser, President of the Alaska State Skeet Shooting Association and Michael Wascom, President of the Alaska State Amateur Trapshooting Association. It is a combination of scores between the 12 gauge Alaska State Skeet Championship & the Alaska State ATA Handicap Championship.

Presidents' Award	Jerry Wasson	Eagle River	AK	189	of	200
Annual Bling Shoot: Champion 2 nd Place Bling Winner	Carol Inma Karen Garo Donna Bro	dner				

Highlights: . 79 shooters from around the state and the Yukon Territory along with 14 Non-Residents from 10 states (Utah, Nebraska, Colorado, Pennsylvania, Michigan, Oregon, New York, Wisconsin, Nevada and New Mexico) participated in the 2015 Alaska State shoot. We thank each and every one of them for their participation.