# Minutes of the THMGC General Membership meeting held on Wednesday 19th October 2016.

The following are the Minutes of the Temeku Hills Men's Golf Club General Membership meeting held in the Grill Room on Wednesday 19th October 2016.

**The President**, Dennis Kitchel called the meeting to order at 1330 hours. The following Board members were in attendance: Jim Dent, Ron Frederick, Lee Wortman, Neil Miller, John Hamby, John Kupka, Ron Vaught, Don Wadsworth, Bruce Worley and Richard McAlpine.

**The Minutes** of the General Membership meeting held on Wednesday 17<sup>th</sup> August 2016 were approved. (Mayfield/Hamby).

**The Financial report** was submitted by N Miller who advised the finances were looking good and as of October 1<sup>st</sup> 2016 the Operating Balance reflected a total of \$6831.50. The Hole-in-One insurance amount was \$420. The report was approved. (Hamby/Kupka)

**The Scrip** account was presented by R Frederick who advised the total Outstanding Scrip is currently \$10,625.50 and advised members to "spend it!"

**The Handicap Chairman**, J Kupka advised that he would be posting all scores for the Senior/Super Senior and Classic tournament. He also reminded players to ensure they enter their last names on the scorecard and to keep a backup score card during all competitions.

**The Special Events Coordinator** J Dent advised the Christmas Brunch event will be held in the HOA Ballroom on December 17<sup>th</sup> 2016. Cost per person will be \$15. He also advised that member Raj Goyal was undergoing major surgery this day and our thoughts should be with him and his family at this time.

**The Membership Chairman** J Hamby reminded members to sign up early with their 2017 fees in order to take advantage of the \$10 early signing discount. Currently there are 145 members - 137 males, 7 ladies and 1 junior.

He also reported that SCGA had commenced allowing Associate Members to join those clubs who would be interested. There is an incentive to both Associate Members and the Men's Club in as much as the Associate membership fee is less than the regular fee but does not necessarily allow the Associate to play in the Men's Cub events. In the interim the Men's Club receives payment from SCGA from part of the Associate's joining fee.

**The Webmaster,** R Vaught advised that all was well with the site and it appeared, from an instant hand count, that many members do regularly check the website. Members were also reminded of the calendar facility on the site.

## **Travel Team reports:**

- 1. <u>TVGL</u> D Wadsworth reported the last match of the year was coming up. It will be held on 20<sup>th</sup> October 2016 at TCl against Inland Valley GC.
- 2. <u>SDCS</u> R Frederick reported that there are still two matches left to be played. Should Temeku win one match we'll be in 4<sup>th</sup> place, but if we win both matches we'll be in 3<sup>rd</sup> place and stand a good chance of being in the playoffs.

**The Tournament Chairman**, R Frederick reminded players of the two tournament events yet to be played: November 16<sup>th</sup> the Highland Cup, our final major tournament for the year, and December 21<sup>st</sup> year end Scramble.

He then advised players the results of the Senior, Super Senior and Classic event played on this day.

### 55 years + Senior Division:

Low Gross – M. Lyons and qualified for the SCGA tournament.

Low Net – S.Weeks.

## 65 years + Super Senior Division:

Low Gross – B. Halgren

Low Net - A. Walker

#### 75 years + Classic Division:

Low Gross: C. Yu

Low Net: J Spadafore.

The President thanked R Frederick for all his work during this tournament.

#### **New Business.**

1. Appointment of the 2017 Board.

J Dent took the floor and referred to the Board of Directors Slate that had been posted in the Men's locker room since September 19th 2017. He called for any nominations from the floor. None were received. R Frederick made a motion that by acclimation, as there were no other nominations the 2017 Board be approved as per the posted slate. This was seconded by S. Mayfield and passed by the membership.

The following members will sit on the 2017 Board:

D Kitchel, President.

B Worley, Vice President.

R. McAlpine, Secretary.

N. Miller, Treasurer.

- R. Frederick, Tournament Chairman.
- J. Hamby, Membership Chairman.
- J. Kupka, Handicap Chairman.

There being no further business the President declared the meeting closed at 1345 hours.

Richard McAlpine Secretary.