

Fort Saskatchewan Music Festival

60th Anniversary Gala



March 17, 2019 2:30 pm Shell Theatre

Program

<u>2:30 to 3:30 pm</u> Lobby Entertainment

<u>3:30 p.m. to 4:00 pm</u>

Shell Theatre Awards Ceremony

- Welcome, Lisa Tomchyshyn
- O' Canada, Fort High Band
- Piano Award Presentations
- Fort High Concert Band Performance
- Vocal, Choral, Band, & String Award Presentations
- Fort High Jazz Performance
- Games & Prizes
- Final Thank You







Page 3

Award Winners

Piano	
ATB Financial Award Preparatory Piano	Kaidence Parker
Servus Credit Union Award Piano Method Books	Sean Johnson
ARMTA Edmonton Branch Award Junior Piano Grade 1 & 2	Alaina Bidniak
Sharon Cameron Award Junior Piano Grade <u>3</u> & <u>4</u>	Clare Hudson
Smith Insurance Award Intermediate Piano Grade 5 & 6	Mason Tomchyshyn
Gwen Montgomery Memorial Award Intermediate Piano Grade 7 & 8	Eva Degen
Twice But Nice Award Jazz/Blues/Ragtime	Abigail Dul
Fort Saskatchewan City Council Award Canadian Composers	Scott Johnson
Mix 107 FM Award Movie/TV/Pop	Stella Hughes
Fort Saskatchewan Royal Purple Award Piano Duet	Erin & Sydnie Zapesocki
James Mowat Parent Council Award Adjudicator's Choice	Emily Hudson
Karen & Emma Kramer Memorial Trophy Adjudicator's Choice	Johannes Lebante
Vocal	
Josephburg Choral Society Award Vocal Solo	Hailey Hanneman
Shirley Yakimets Award Musical Theatre	Hannah Hughes
Erin Gott Award Adjudicator's Choice – Vocal Selection	Élyse Hughes

Page 4

Band, Choral & Hand Chimes

Music is Marvelous Studio Award School Choral

Rotary Club of Fort Saskatchewan Award School Choral

Golden West Radio Station Award Beginner Bands

Dr. Brooke Karach Trophy Junior High Bands

Rudolph Hennig School Trophy Senior High Bands

David & Freda Spearing Award School Handbells Catherine Ayasse Memorial Award Woodwind/Brass Performance

Strings & Ensembles

Victoria Lodge #13 of Freemasons Award String Instrument

Lion's Club of Fort Saskatchewan Award String Duet

Beta Sigma Phi Preceptor Pi Award Family Ensemble Sturgeon Composite Vocal Jazz

South Pointe School Choir

Redwater Beginner Band

Rudolph Hennig Grade 9 Band

Sturgeon Composite High School Jazz Band

Bruderheim School

Rayna Werner & Emily Saxby

Sophia Andruchow

Haley & Morgan Koncur

The Corrigan Family



Special Recognition

The Fort Saskatchewan Music Festival Association would like to thank our historical members and volunteers who have made this Festival possible over the last 60 years. Because of these organizers, the youth in our community have had the opportunity to share and enhance their musical talents. We hope to be able to continue this tradition for years to come.

Historical Facts



- The Music Festival first began in 1959
- From 1959 to 1979 the Festival was called "Musical Achievement Days"
- The Festival's opening bank balance was \$5.45
- Sherritt was the first corporate donor
- Local churches/schools provided space for free
- The Festival gained membership to the Provincial Festival Association in 1968
- In 1995 there were 1507 participants (400 entries)
- Some of the first Board Members included: Madeline Lamoureax, Gwen Montgomery, Irene Pawlikowsky
- In 1967 the participant entry fee was \$0.50



Our Distinguished Sponsors

Platinum Donors

ATB Financial, Golden West Radio/Mix 107 Lion's Club, Nutrien Ag Solutions, Sherritt International

Gold Donors

Royal Purple Lodge #212, Rotary Club of Fort Sask, Servus Credit Union, Twice But Nice

Silver Donors

David & Freda Spearing, Erin Gott, Fort Community Band, Gessner Family, James Mowat Parent Council, Music is Marvelous Piano Studio, Smith Insurance, Shirley Yakimets, Mayor Gale Katchur, Councillor Jibs Abitoye, Councillor Gordon Harris, Councillor Brian Kelly, Councillor Deanna Lennox, Councillor Lisa Makin, Councillor Ed Sperling

Friends of the Festival

ARMTA Edmonton Branch, Beta Sigma Phi Preceptor Pi, Beta Sigma Phi Xi Tau, Brooke E Karach Prof. Corp, Sharon & Keith Cameron, Josephburg Choral, Rudolph Hennig School, Victoria Lodge #13, Yvonne Jenkins





Music Festival Board

Lisa Tomchyshyn, President/Piano Chair Melanie Smith-Doderai, Financials/String Chair Olga Degen, Handchime Chair Shyla Gray, Band Chair Erin Gott, Vocal/Choral Chair

Other Volunteers

Mary Guillermo, Alison Kohl, Jennifer Parker, Jennifer Robinson, Anne Traviss

<u>Adjudicators</u> Bill Dimmer, Deanna Dolstra, Joseph Fridman, Mireille Rijavec



Special Thanks

Shell Theatre and Dow Centennial Centre Staff First United Church Fort High School , Simone Villetard Apulia Catering

