

Florida Legislative Black Caucus

Officers

Sen. Bobby Powell, Jr., Chair District 30- West Palm Beach

Rep. Kamia Brown, Vice-Chair District 45 – Orlando

Rep. Tracie Davis, Secretary District 13 – Jacksonville

Rep. Patricia Williams, Treasurer District 92 – Pompano Beach

Rep. Fentrice Driskell, Parliamentarian District 63 – Tampa

<u>Florida Senate</u>

Sen. Randolph Bracy District 11 - Orlando Sen. Oscar Braynon, II District 35 - Miami Gardens

Sen. Audrey Gibson District 6 - Jacksonville Sen. Darryl Rouson

District 19 – St. Petersburg Sen. Perry E. Thurston, Jr.

District 33 – Ft. Lauderdale

FL House of Representatives

Rep. Ramon Alexander District 8 – Tallahassee

Rep. Bruce Antone District 46-Orlando

Rep. James Bush, III District 109 – Miami

Rep. Kimberly Daniels District 14 – Jacksonville

Rep. Byron Donalds District 80 – Naples

Rep. Bobby DuBose District 94 – Ft. Lauderdale

Rep. Dianne Hart District 61 – Tampa

Rep. Mike Hill District 1 – Pensacola

Rep. Delores Hogan Johnson District 84 – Ft. Pierce

Rep. Al Jacquet District 88 – West Palm Beach

Rep. Shevrin Jones District 101 – West Park

Rep. Dotie Joseph District 108 – Miami

Rep. Kionne McGhee District 117 – Miami

Rep. Wengay Newton District 70 – St. Petersburg

Rep. Anika Omphroy District 95 – Lauderdale Lakes

Rep. Sharon Pritchett District 102-Miramar

Rep. Geraldine Thompson District 44 – Winter Park **Rep. Barbara Watson**

District 107 – Miami Gardens Rep. Clovis Watson, Jr. District 20 – Gainesville July 14, 2020

For Immediate Release:

Florida Legislative Black Caucus Announces "Historic Funding for Florida's Three Private HBCUs"

Tallahassee – Governor Ron DeSantis signed Florida's 2020-21 Budget, which includes a recurring \$30.4 Million for Florida's three Private Historical Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). This is a collective \$20 Million increase in annual funding for Bethune Cookman University (Daytona), Florida Memorial College (Miami), and Edward Waters College (Jacksonville). The \$30.4 Million equates to a collective Two Thousand Academic Scholarships for students needing tuition assistance. Additionally, these funds will help reduce the number of at-risk students that drop out of school due to a lack of financial assistance, buttress the schools and ensure the long-term viability and stability of private HBCUs.

State Senator Bobby Powell, Jr., Chairman of Florida Legislative Black Caucus stated, "While the state budget has taken a substantial hit due to the Pandemic, I am relieved to see Florida's Historically Black Colleges and Universities' funding has been preserved. Often HBCUs take a backseat to other institutions despite being on par and/or exceeding all expectations. HBCUs educate and enrich all of the residents of the state of Florida and will continue to do so with this funding." State Representative Bruce Antone (Immediate Past Chairman) stated, "The increased funding is historic, it will help preserve the rich history of Florida's three Private HBCUs. This funding will help retain at least one thousand jobs and the three HBCUs will continue to have a collective \$400 Million fiscal impact on their respective communities and economies. I want to thank Governor Ron DeSantis, Senate President Bill Galvano, House Speaker Jose Oliva, all Senate and House Budget Committee Chairs and the twenty-nine members of the Legislative Black Caucus for ensuring the \$30.4 Million was in the 2020-2021 fiscal year's budget, especially during the Coronavirus Pandemic, which has caused a significant in reduction in Florida's tax revenue collections in recent months." State Senator Perry E. Thurston, Jr. (Past Caucus Chairman) added, "During these difficult economic times we are pleased to see that the Governor recognizes that value of our Historical Black Colleges and Universities."

The \$30.4 Million will be distributed to the three HBCUs as follows:

- Bethune Cookman University \$16,960,429
- Florida Memorial University
- Edward Waters College

\$ 6,429,526 \$ 7,032,048



Florida Legislative Black Caucus

Florida's Past Historical Black Junior Colleges (HBJCs)

After the landmark Brown v. Board of Education decision of 1954, the Legislature of Florida, with support from various counties, started a series of Eleven (11) Black Junior Colleges serving the African-American population. The purpose was to show that separate but equal education was working in Florida. Prior to this, there had been only one junior college in Florida serving African Americans, Booker T. Washington Junior College, in Pensacola. The new junior colleges began as extensions of black high schools; they used the same facilities and often the same faculty. Some built their own buildings after a few years. After passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 mandating an end to school segregation, the colleges were all abruptly closed. Only a fraction of the students and faculty were able to transfer to the previously all-white junior colleges, where they found, at best, an indifferent reception.

The 12 Florida Historical Black Junior Colleges (HBJCs)

- 1. Booker T. Washington (1949)
- 2. Gibbs Junior College (1957)
- 3. Roosevelt Junior College (1958)
- 4. Volusia County Junior College (1958)
- 5. Hampton Junior College (1958)
- 6. Rosenwald Junior College (1958)
- 7. Suwannee River Junior College (1959)
- 8. Carver Junior College (1960)
- 9. Collier-Blocker Junior College (1960)
- 10. Lincoln Junior College (1960)
- 11. Jackson Junior College (1961)
- 12. Johnson Junior College (1962)
- Pensacola St. Petersburg West Palm Beach Daytona Beach Ocala Panama City Madison Cocoa Palatka Fort Pierce Marianna Leesburg