Knights' Memorial Award and Trophy

From the 1948 Tenth Anniversary Crusader:

In Honor of the Twenty-One Knights who sacrificed their lives in World War II, Mr. H. P. Wilhelmsen presented the Knights' Memorial Trophy to Southeast High School on April 24, 1947. The trophy was purchased with money Hank Wilhelmsen had saved to further his education; but when the war claimed his life, his parents wanted to do something with the funds in a manner Hank would approve.

The purpose of the trophy is to encourage students to do their best and to remember that each of these honored Knights gave his life in order that freedom - our freedom - might be perpetuated.

The Knights' Memorial Trophy is to be engraved each year with the name of an outstanding junior or senior who has distinguished himself. This student will be chosen by a committee consisting of the principal, vice-principal, coaching staff, and all faculty members connected with the athletic department. Such factors as ability, team play, scholastic standing, fairness, citizenship, attitude toward teammates and opponents, application to duty, cooperation, and leadership will be considered.

Kenneth Soxman was the Knight chosen for this honor in 1947.

Dedicated to Students of Southeast High School who served our country in the cause of world freedom during World War II, and in memory of the following students who gave their lives in that cause:

Thomas Arello Herschel G. Badger Chas. G. Barnhart E. H. Brillault, Jr. Dale Burlile Eugene T. Conner Gene Davidson Donald Doughty Wilbur Elliott Donald Lee Evans Donald Cooper Frank Henry Glen C. Keclik Fred Kracaw Thomas W. Patten Richard Phillips Charles Recke Harold Rice Guy Silkiner Shelby Sturgeon Henry K. Wilhelmsen

Year	Knights Award	Ladyship Award
1947	Kenneth Soxman	
1948	Walter L. Peck	
1949	Larry Gene Mack	
1950	Edward Greg Bolch	
1951	Richard N. Ellis	
1952	Ronald E. Davis	
1953	Grover C. Wilcher	
1954	John P. Cartwright	
1955	Don W. Hymer	
1956	Mike Cartwright	
1957	Charles Emil "Skip" Snyder	
1958	Tom Cartwright	
1959	Richard B. Barnett	Nancy G. Renfer
1960	Robert Virgil Blaine	Sharon Kay Kaelson
1961	Robert Dean Rankin	Connie Kay Givens
1962	Gordon E. Lyons, Jr.	Carol Sue Ward
1963	Dennis Markley Scott	Cholly Anne Drake
1964	Russel E. Washington & Jim L. Laffoon	Susan Candace Hibbard
1965	Stephen H. Montee	Barbara Lynn Jackson
1966	Logan Oliver Sousley	Cynthia Lee Bartlow

Year	Knights Award	Ladyship Award
1967	David Earl Patterson	Patricia Sue Burks & Debra Jo Pickering
1968	Frank Carter Beck & Bruce Lamar Eston	Diana Lynn Horine
1969	Howard B. Sharp & Byron L. Schmidt	Kathleen Joy Feeley
1970	Ned Stephens	Theresa Andrews & Cheryl Beatty
1971	Shannon Beard & John Williams	Cheryl Austin & Paula Jacoby
1972	Andrew Hudson	Janella Harrison
1973	Earl Everett	Carla Matthews
1974	William T. Hudson	Martha Werst
1975	Timothy Garrett	Bianca D. Lightfoot
1976	J. D. Hill & Lester Dickey	Angela Pickett
1977	Willis Ware & Wayne Washington	Chandra Graves, Sharon Denise Hayes, & Vicki Mitchell
1978	Kelvin A. May	Denita Brooks
1979	Lynn May	Lisa Gray
1980	Richard Dixon	Cynthia Coby
1981	Vincent Williams	Paula Lang
1982	Robert Hall	Alisa Jo Harrison
1983	Danny Hilsinger	Marguerite Taylor & Tonya Barkley
1984	Lorenzo Hicks	Cecelia Wright
1985	Reuben L. King	
1986	Phillip King	DeTonya Childress & Angela M. Franklin
1987		Erica Calhoun

Year	Knights Award	Ladyship Award
1988		Louvenia Freeman
1989	Walton Anderson	Tracey Newman

Note: Names copied from Knights' Memorial Trophy name plates. Some years and names may be missing. 1989 Knights Award recipient provided by Tracey Newman 3/27/19.