

Gala Concert



Sunday, March 19th, 2017 2:30 pm Shell Theatre, Dow Centennial Centre

Master of Ceremonies: **Tony Stacey**

2017 Gala Concert Program

Please join in singing O Canada sung by Hannah Hughes

| 1 | Handbells | Guthrie Junior High Handbell Choir Morning Song Meditation | directed by Patricia Saluk by K McChesney by M Helman |
|----|--------------|---|--|
| 2 | School Band | Namao School Junior High Advanced Band Barnstormers March Korean Folk Rhapsody Power Up! | directed by Kyle Swenson by L Orcino arranged by J Curnow by S Hodges |
| 3 | Piano Solo | Alaina Bidniak Lightly Row | Traditional, arranged by N Faber |
| 4 | Piano Solo | Johannes Lebante Beauty and the Beast | by H Ashman and A Menken arranged by D Alexander |
| 5 | Vocal Solo | Madison Widmer Girl Crush | accompanied by Erin Gott by L McKenna, H Lindsey, L Rose |
| 6 | Saxophonist | Megan Cohoe Country Gardens | accompanied by Patricia Saluk Traditional |
| 7 | Piano Solo | Ebin Johnson Burlesque in G Major | attributed to Mozart |
| 8 | Vocal Solo | Natalie Smadis A Change in Me | accompanied by Erin Gott by T Rice and A Menken |
| 9 | Piano Solo | Eva Degen Pop Goes the Weasel | Traditional, arranged by C Poole |
| 10 | String Solo | Morgan Koncur Millers Reel | accompanied by Melanie Doderai Traditional |
| 11 | Piano Solo | Kali Heatherington Memory | by Andrew Lloyd Webber |
| 12 | School Choir | Our Lady of the Angels School Musical Theatre Program The Lion King | directed by Jennifer Smadis by Tim Rice and Elton John |

Award and Trophy Winners for 2017

Piano Awards

Kathleen Faris Award

Preparatory Piano

Clara Lukie

Royal Canadian Legion Branch #27 Award

Piano Method Books

Javin Tomchyshyn

Gwen Montgomery Memorial Award

Junior Piano Grades 1 & 2

Ebin Johnson

Presented by Helen Akerboom

Sharon Cameron Award

Junior Piano Grades 3 & 4

Mason Tomchyshyn

Alberta Registered Music Teachers Award

Intermediate Piano Grades 5 & 6

Kylee Ratcliffe

Presented by Helen Akerboom

Yvonne Jenkins Award

Senior Piano Grades 9 & up

Kali Heatherington

Presented by Olga Degen

Twice But Nice Award

Jazz/Blues/Ragtime - Piano Selection

Mason Tomchyshyn

BSH Engineering Award

Canadian Composers - Piano Selection

Eva Degen

Presented by Helen Akerboom

Mix 107.9 Fort Saskatchewan Award

Movie/TV/Pop - Piano Selection

Kali Heatherington

Presented by Mary-Ann Kostiuk

Fort Saskatchewan Royal Purple Award

Piano Duet

Eva Degen & Gretchen Lukie

Presented by Sharron Roberts

James Mowat Parent Council Award

Adjudicator's Choice - Piano Selection

Alaina Bidniak

Presented by Maegan LaRocque-Walker

Karen & Emma Kramer Memorial Award

Adjudicator's Choice - Piano Selection

Anika Lukie

Award and Trophy Winners for 2017

Vocal & Choral Awards

Josephburg Choral Society Award

Vocal Solo

Shirley Yakimets Award

Musical Theatre/Ensembles

Gott the Gift Music Studio Award

Adjudicator's Choice – Vocal Selection

Music is Marvelous Piano Studio Award

School Choral

Hannah Hughes

Presented by Brent Orchard

Natalie Smadis

Presented by Shirley Yakimets

Madison Widmer

Presented by Erin Gott

Our Lady of the Angels School Musical Theater

Program – Grades 7 & 8

Accepted by Joshua Wozney and Juliana Hankey Presented by Olga Degen





Award and Trophy Winners for 2017

Instrumental & Band Awards

Catherine Ayasse Memorial Award

Woodwind Performance

Fort Saskatchewan Victoria Lodge of Freemasons Award

Elementary School Concert and Stage Bands

Dr. Brooke Karach Award

Junior High Concert and Stage Bands

Rudolph Hennig School Award

Senior High Concert and Stage Bands

Beta Sigma Phi Preceptor Pi Award

School Handbells

Agrium Award

String Instrument

Agrium Award

String Instrument

Megan Cohoe

Presented by Susan Doyle

Redwater School Beginner Band

Accepted by Nolan Peters and students from the Redwater School Beginner Band Presented by Naheed Hedayati

Namao School Junior High Advanced Band

Accepted by Kianna McGregor and Joey Epp Presented by Naheed Hedayati

Fort Saskatchewan High School Band

Accepted by Brayden Jost and students from the Fort Sask High School Concert Band Presented by Naheed Hedayati

Guthrie Junior High Handbell Choir

Accepted by Teagan Larsen and Ewan Melville Presented by Burle Krebbs

Arwen Bylsma

Morgan Koncur

Presented by Naheed Hedayati



Our Distinguished Sponsors



ATB Financial





Agrium















BECJM Enterprises Ltd.
BSH Engineering
David & Freda Spearing
Fotty Stevenson Wilson
FS Community Band
Gott The Gift Music Studio
Kathleen & Murray Faris

Martin Akerboom
Moira Buck
Sharon & Keith Cameron
Sherritt International
Shirley Yakimets
Smith Insurance

Friends of the Festival

Anglican Church Women's League ARMTA Edmonton Branch Beta Sigma Phi Preceptor Pi Beta Sigma Phi Xi Tau Brooke E. Karach Professional Corp Catholic Women's League Fort Saskatchewan Veterinary Clinic Gessner Family **Gunther Construction** James Mowat Parent Council Josephburg Choral Society Majestic Chapter #126 of Eastern Star Maple Leaf Rebekah Lodge Mary Totman Rudolph Hennig School Victoria Lodge #13, A.F. & A.M. Yvonne Jenkins



Special Thanks to:

Shell Theatre, Dow Centennial Centre
Shell Theatre Staff, Technicians and Volunteers
Dow Centennial Staff
Fort Sask, High School & Simone Villatord

Fort Sask. High School & Simone Villetard

First United Church

Harold Walters, Steve Florchuk & Associates of Royal LePage Noralta











When words fade, Music speaks...









Thank You to our Door Prize Donors

Home Hardware Building Centre Safeway Fort Saskatchewan Roland's Jewelry Station Square North Central Coop Signs by Dee Shoppers Drug Mart

Thank You to our Many Volunteers

Helen Akerboom Mike Akerboom Olga Degen Katharine Gessner Erin Gott Kim Heatherington Naheed Hedayati David Spearing Melanie Smith-Doderai Anne Traviss Lisa Tomchyshyn Simone Villetard

Thank You to this Year's Adjudicators

Robert de Frece, Kimberley Denis, Pamela Giesbrecht, Allen Jacobson, Thomas Schoen

Music Festival Executive Committee

Helen Akerboom, Mike Akerboom, Olga Degen, Sharon Cameron, Erin Gott, Sharon Hart, Kim Heatherington, Naheed Hedayati, Melanie Smith-Doderai, David Spearing, Lisa Tomchyshyn

Special Thanks to our Master of Ceremonies **Tony Stacey**



"Music can change the world because it can change people." ~ Bono